minimum specs for hdtv recording - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 08:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default minimum specs for hdtv recording

just wondering if my specs would pass to let me record 720p hdtv or even 1080i???
__________________

__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 10:50 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

http://www.ramelectronics.net/html/HTPC.html
__________________

Bruce is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

should be fine. it depends on which tuner card you use
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 04:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

yeah do you know of any that have hardware decoding or something to take the load of the cpu so it can record to mpeg4 real time?
__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 02:22 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

otherwise ill havta look for another hard drive for video storage
__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 08:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i don't know what sort of drain mpeg-4 would have on a system but with tweaking i managed to be able to record mpeg and mpeg2 on a pII-400 system with an analogue tuner.....the "minimum" specs for that were PIII-650 or something like that.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 12-13-2005, 09:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 354
Default

cool nice effort, we still have a PII 333 256mb ram and it used to do heaps that it shouldnt of really, anywayz thanks nitestick shouldnt be a problem recording 720p on mine but yeh dunno about mpeg4 .. ill just hav2 get another hard drive for storing large files on (mpeg2 recordings)
__________________

__________________


Aries A+ Hardware and Software Certified
BlkShdw88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.