In the middle of building my comp... two questions i need asnwered immediatly! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-17-2004, 08:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default In the middle of building my comp... two questions i need asnwered immediatly!

Alright the instruction manual for the harddrive I got (seagate 7200rpm 8mb 80gb) says that you have to use the seagate disc utility CD to boot the comp without out the hardrive then you just put the seagate disc utility cd into the cd rom drive and then turn off the comp.. and then install so the comp will boot up from the disc. So do I need to do this if I am building the comp from scratch? And if I do should I just instal the HD last? The problem with that though is the radeon 9800 pro wants me to connect to the Hard drives power connecter. So I need some advice... if I can't install the HD until I put the cd into the cdrom drive and then I have to sintall the HD how can I do this if the graphics card has to be plugged into the hard drives power connecter. I am in the middle of building so I would like an answer fast. Thanks
__________________

Ice9 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

just hook it all up and boot it with the cd in, that may work. i don't think you have to have a vid card in, just use the onboard mobo grapics...if you have them. i don't know though...search google and wait for some more advise...i may be wrong.
__________________

compy is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

OK, as you can see, I have the same card as you and I also have the same HD. I built my rig from sratch, and you do not need to do the CD utility thingy. Just connect your HD and vid card and go through the normal process...ie, first boot, you format the new HD and put on the OS, then the chipset drivers and the then vid card and so on....what is in the rest of your rig? Let me know if you need anything else.
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 769
Default

good thing you waited...what is the utilities disk for anyways?
compy is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by lev2323
OK, as you can see, I have the same card as you and I also have the same HD. I built my rig from sratch, and you do not need to do the CD utility thingy. Just connect your HD and vid card and go through the normal process...ie, first boot, you format the new HD and put on the OS, then the chipset drivers and the then vid card and so on....what is in the rest of your rig? Let me know if you need anything else.
ok thaank you... now i have another question.... it told me to first diasable the onboard graphics but doesnt tell me how... do I have to do this and if so... how?
Ice9 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 284
Default

yes you do if you want to use your 9800 pro which you will want to do since its way better than onboard graphics. go into your bios and in your integrated devices area disable your onboard graphics. to get into bios you will have to press either delete or insert or f8 or something like that while you computer is first booting up.
__________________
2.8 p4 @ 3.15 900fsb, 4 sticks corsair xms cas latency 2-3-3-6 256mb each, leadtek 6800 gt 256mb @ultra speeds, gigabyte ga8ik1100 mobo, nec 3500a 16x dual layer dvd burner, tdk 48x cd burner, wd 74gb raptor hd, windows xp pro sp2, dell 2005fpw 20 inch widescreen lcd monitor
jblaze725 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 250
Send a message via AIM to lev2323
Default

hmmm,........well, I have never messed with a mobo that had onboard gfx. Sometimes if you go ahead and install the vid card it should disable the onboard gfx. But if that doesnt work, I would think that you would do so in the BIOS. That is reached by hitting F1 or DEL or something during the boot process, it should say so. Look in your mobos manual in the BIOS section, it should tell you how. What mobo do you have?
__________________
My Computer:
C2D E6420 2.13, FSB 1066MHz
OCZ SLI-ready 1066MHz 5-5-5-15T
eVGA NF63 motherboard
eVGA 8800GTS 640MB
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Windows XP Pro 32 bit
OCZ GameXstream 700w PSU
lev2323 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

Yea if u insert ur gfx card, itl disable ur onboard gfx.
__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:23 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 201
Default

Ok i am insterting the mobo right now and i have it all in there but there isn't any screws in the mobo box... you use screws right?
Ice9 is offline  
Old 08-17-2004, 09:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,626
Default

maybe it has clips, but there should be a sac of screws...
__________________

__________________
My current specs:
i7 920
Biostar TPower x58
3x2GB g.skill
XFI GTX260 Black Edition
640 WD Caviar Black
Vista Home Premium x64
U-Toast is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.