Mid range Computer - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2005, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 36
Default Mid range Computer

Hey guys my brother is wanting me to build a computer for him. He wants to spend somewhere around $700-800. I live in the US so most of my stuff will probably come from Newegg. Im just curious as to what you guys would reccommend for him. It will be for some gaming so I'm thinking a 6600gt video card is fine. He will not be overclocking it so he won't be needing any super high quality ram or anything. Thanks for any suggestions you have.
__________________

sguffee is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 02:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Here is a nice system, but cutting it finely, it will need a case, but that needs his opinion on it. To cut costs down, he could have just one hard drive, but I put two on, to go in RAID 0


Samsung Black 16X DVD+/-R DVD Burner support Dual Layer, Model TS-H552U/BEBN BLK, OEM Bulk W/ SW
Item# N82E16827151066
Status: In Stock

Save to Buy Later
Remove Item

$53.99

$53.99

**This item is warranted through the product manufacturer only. what's this?
Hard Drives

Western Digital 80GB 7200RPM SATA Hard Drive, Model WD800JD, OEM Drive Only
Item# N82E16822135106
Status: In Stock

Save to Buy Later
Remove Item

$56.00

$112.00

Memory (System Memory)

Kingston ValueRAM Dual Channel Kit 184 Pin 1G(512MBx2) DDR PC-3200 - Retail
Item# N82E16820141423
Status: In Stock

Save to Buy Later
Remove Item

$91.67

$91.67

Motherboards - AMD

MSI "K8N Neo4-F" NVIDIA nForce4 Chipset Motherboard For AMD Socket 939 CPU -RETAIL
Item# N82E16813130491
Status: In Stock

Save to Buy Later
Remove Item

$86.00

$86.00

**This item is warranted through the product manufacturer only. what's this?
Power Supplies

Thermaltake Silent Purepower 480W with Black housing - Purepower Butterfly ATX 2-Fan Power Supply, Model "W0021" -RETAIL
Item# N82E16817153012
Status: In Stock

Save to Buy Later
Remove Item

$69.00

$69.00

Processors

AMD Athlon 64 3200+, 512KB L2 Cache, Socket 939 64-bit Processor - Retail
Item# N82E16819103502
Status: In Stock



$190.00

$190.00



EVGA nVIDIA GeForce 6600GT Video Card, 128MB DDR3, 128-Bit, DVI/TV-Out, AGP 8X, Model "128-A8-N350" -RETAIL
Item# N82E16814130220
Status: In Stock


$185.00

$185.00

Product total: $787.66
Enter Promotion Code: what's this? Shipping & Handling: $ .00
Total (Before tax): $787.66
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 05:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

^^^ Good stuff right there.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 06:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

can't get any better than that

only suggestion i would make is to get corsair value instead of kingston value

also, does he already have an ATX case and a copy of win xp?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 163
Send a message via Yahoo to xenosoul
Default

why corsair instead of kingston.. just curious cause I am purchasing ram in a couple of days.
xenosoul is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 07:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
I Rule You
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 543
Send a message via AIM to FadingTheory Send a message via Yahoo to FadingTheory
Default

Corsair produces better ram. I have a stick of Value corsair ram.... good stuff.
__________________
Iraq... whee.
FadingTheory is offline  
Old 04-19-2005, 08:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

corsair has a lower cas latency (2.5 vs kington's 3, not that it matters)

this is only for me, most people won't experience this; i wasted my time exchanging kingston sticks - all four were faulty and most of them received errors within the first few minuets of memtests

they also blew up 2 of my hard drives and corrupted my OS (but i think this is due to my dfi mobo not accepting value ram)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.