memtest86 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2005, 11:07 AM   #1 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default memtest86

So I ran memtest86 for the first time the other day... It's still running. Is it suppose to take that long? Takes about 1 hour per MB. When I left for work today, it had 38MB done in 35 hours time. Is that how long it is suppose to take? I'm going to get new RAM soon (1gb) and I'm going to want to make sure it is error free, so I want to run the hell out of memtest on them, but I will be looking at almost 1000 hours! That is ridiculous. Should it take that long?

Also, when the test finished, does it just keep on going until you manually stop it?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 11:21 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

shouldnt take that long, heck, you can write your own code to test memory and the program should only take about a minute
__________________

horndude is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 11:23 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

That's way too slow. Make sure you don't have any programs opened, or any unneeded processes running.
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 11:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

AHHHHHHH!!!!!! Mr. Horn, I'm no programmer. I havent the slightest CLUE when it comes to programming. Unfortunetely, I am a straight up Windows guy.
Him is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 11:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,538
Default

im not much of a programmer either, but im learning, its becoming a necessity with all the bad freakin code out there these days
horndude is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 11:39 AM   #6 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Yeah I suppose, but you're a Linux guy so you really need to know it. I really have no interest in programming, unfortunetely. It is tedious and monotonous to me, and I derive no pleasure from it. I really wish I did enjoy it, as it would be a great skill to have. I have tried to enjoy it, but I really cant.

You may not be much of a programmer, but I am NO programmer. I couldnt even tell you where to start in making the most basic of Viz Basic apps.
Him is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 02:45 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

Uh, so no one told you that Memtest will never stop testing unless you stop it? Memtest is a redundent test program that will continue to run until you hit the ESC button, there is no end to it. So if after 11hrs you have no errors, then you never will. Stop the test.
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Huh... I did not know that. Is 11 hours universal no matter how much memory you have? Meaning, on my Laptop I have 256mb and on my desktop I have a gig. So does that 11 hours mean for both machines?
Him is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
That's way too slow. Make sure you don't have any programs opened, or any unneeded processes running.
memtest86 starts when you boot your computer. It dosent even touch Windows. You burn it to a cd, or floppy, and boot from that and it automatically starts.
Him is offline  
Old 05-20-2005, 03:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Well I personally think it did the test around 20x, and when you looked it had only done 38 meg or whatever so you thought it was taking that long.

And a question for the crucial guy, I heard that it is best to disable your CPU L2 cache while testing your memory, because when your using a memtest program everything is running through your L2 cache theirfor a memory error will not \ is less likely to show,

Care to shed some light on this matter?
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.