Memtest86 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-03-2005, 09:10 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default Memtest86

i've looped memtest86+ v1.51 and the only error i've been getting (tried Vdimm 2.7,2.8,and 2.9 @ Rgone's [dfi-street mod] settings and now the only error i've been getting is one @ Test 5 (very last one, i was at 98 or 99%)

wierd....any comments?
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:16 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Get new RAM

There really isn't anything you can do about it, you can't exactly loosen your timings considering yours are already like 2.5-4-4-8 aren't they?

And if raising the voltage isn't helping then they are just bunk

Get those TwinMOS
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 413
Default

Yea pretty much if an address is messed up, your gonna have to get new ram, or you risk system instability.
algu7344 is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

ok, thx

i'm currently waiting for a reply on the geil support forum and the dfi-street forums

and i already contacted geil, and they said that i can only get a replacement, not my money back

and i bought my ram at fry's, which only gives you a 30 day money back guarantee and warranty, so i can't return it there

argh...if only i could get those twinmos

i'll try calling fry's on friday and see what they can do for me; if the restocking fee isn't that high, maybe i'll return them
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:24 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

restocking is generally always 15%
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:28 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well i got them for around $125

12.5+6.25=18.75

125-18.75=106.25

twinmos ram are 101+4.35=105.35+cali tax (ugh) = 114 or so

meh, 8 dollar difference

if fry's really gives me a 15% restocking fee, i'd get those twimos immediately



i'll let you know when i call them friday
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 09:30 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah, not bad at all really considering they'll be much better RAM than what you currently have, and with that board you should be able to OC them nicely since you can get like 4v on the dimm out of that thing can't you
Nubius is offline  
Old 05-03-2005, 10:10 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

yea, i can, but isn't 3V+ dangerous for any ram, even if they an support it?

btw, whaddaya guys think about these?

http://www2.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820231012

i don't think they use any kind of high quality chips (like the UTT on the twinmos)
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.