memtest 86+ results - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-20-2005, 02:30 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Question memtest 86+ results

hey guys,
i just ran memtest 86+ and it came up with a few errors (6 for the couple of hours it was running). the results were as follows:

test- 3
pass- 0
failing address- 0028d7b9fc - 653.6MB
good - 10101010
bad - 10103010
err bits - 00002000
count channel - 1

i had this 6 times, on each the number of MB (652/3MB) was approx. the same. i was just hoping that someone could elaborate on these results. and hopefully tell me how much of a bad state my RAM is in, of if this is acceptable for *reasonably* inexpensive RAM.

thanks,
joe
__________________

JoeTheIdiot is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

well IMO no errors is the only thing that's acceptible.... Whenever your RAM gets accessed it's going to 'collapse' pretty much, may cause system instabilities, programs and games crashing things like that
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 499
Default

Word up, Nubius is correct.
__________________
<a href=\"http://www.democracynow.org\"><img src=\"http://i5.photobucket.com/albums/y165/smileygladhands/linkbanner468x60.gif\" border=\"0\"></a>
\"All over the place, from the popular culture to the propaganda system, there is constant pressure to make people feel that they are helpless, that the only role they can have is to ratify decisions and to consume.\" -Noam Chomsky
smileygladhands is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Default

ok thanks nubius!
guess i'll be buying better ram from now on!

joe
JoeTheIdiot is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Yeah, my kingston RAM completely died on me when I BARELY even overclocked the thing lol. Did a memtest and it hit thousands of errors every second, climbed up to 120,000 before I rebooted lol
Nubius is offline  
Old 04-20-2005, 04:54 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 67
Default

ouch!
anyway thanks for the help guys, much appreciated!

joe
__________________

JoeTheIdiot is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.