Memory of Vid Card Issues? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2005, 02:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default Memory of Vid Card Issues?

So to make this short and sweet I bought a new 6600 GT a new 512 piece of RAM and later a 400 Watt power supply. Everything seems to work OK but I have a feeling the new RAM isn't getting along well with everyone. There doesnt seem to be any noticable improvement with the new RAM (the new card is great though) and whenever I play videos (WMP or Quicktime it stalls my computer to a halt and crashes the program and I don't get to watch any porn. Anyways anyideas on diagnostic programs I can run to see what the problem is? I don't want to take it to the shop for big $$ and like to see if I can fix this myself. Thanks for any help dudes.
__________________

barbourshop is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:10 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

the ultimate boot cd, google that it has everything you need for diags.

I would pull the new ram out and see if the porn is viewable. If not then pull the new vid card.

It is possible that there is a driver conflict from the old card too. You may have to do some real system hacking to remove the old driver...one thing at a time though.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Run memtest overnight (see my sig) then post back results
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I removed the new RAM and the problem persists. Is there any way to completely remove the old drivers? I have a feeling that when erasing the old video drivers from the control panel it didn't do a very good job.
barbourshop is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 02:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Also I noticed when just playing the battlefield 2 Demo I get textures on the map popping up different colours like pink. This must be a video card problem. Will updating the motherboard bios also help??
barbourshop is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:55 PM   #6 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

^it cant hurt to try
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 03:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

Bugs me that no movies will load either Quicktime or WMP and I know I'm not getting the performance I paid for. Any other ideas?
barbourshop is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

And I just noticed another thing. I only have a 400 Watt power supply could that be an issue???
barbourshop is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 725
Default

depends on what you are running, if you have a Prescott P4, then you should upgrade (again, sorry). But I think a weak PSU would cause crashes and not little glitches. I would get a temperature monitor (speedfan will do well for many system temps, and the vid card should have somethign in the drivers. Get somethigns with graphs or logs and not just with readouts), do some gaming four a few hours, and post back the temps, where someone will tell you if they are normal.

I second the memtest thing, run it with the new ram in first though.
__________________
AGP won\'t fit in PCI-E... unless you use a really good hammer. ~Trotter
digitaloracle is offline  
Old 06-17-2005, 02:34 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 6
Default

I finally figured it out. For some reason the drivers that came with the BF2 demo and basically anything past 71.84 cause videos to no longer work with my XFX 6600 GT. Anyone else have this problem???
__________________

barbourshop is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.