Memory Upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-27-2004, 05:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default Memory Upgrade

I have 512MB RDRAM with 400mhz FSB, looking to add another 512. My current RAM is Samsung Model MR18R082GBN1-CK8

Will MR16R1628EG0 or MR18R1628EG0-CM8 work with my computer? Each is 184 pin PC800, like my current RAM. Only difference I noticed is the 2 I'm looking at are 40ns while my current is 45ns. Does that matter? Also, one of the two is 16 bit and one is 18 bit. Is there a difference?
__________________

mf01 is offline  
Old 11-27-2004, 11:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 862
Send a message via AIM to Megadeth2 Send a message via Yahoo to Megadeth2
Default

The 40ns is better since the lower the access time, the better the speed. The 18-Bit will be better because that is the size of the chunk data is transferred in. Naturally, the higher the chunk the faster the transfer.

Just out of curiosity, is that an old Pentium 4 on Socket 423 (Willamette). RDRAM is really horrible memory. It has high clock speeds, but it has miserable transfer chunks. Transferring data in chunks of 16/18/32 bits is horrible. Most memory transfers are now 64-Bit and 128Bit with dual channel. RDRAM is also very expensive even if it is old. I suggest you sell that memory and add in 1 GB of high speed regular DDR SDRAM since it is better performing than RDRAM and the 1 GB will cost you the exact same price as you pay for 512 MB RDRAM.

RDRAM's price is jacked up so high because it is very difficult to manufacture and manufacturing rights weren't given to many by RAMBUS.
__________________

Megadeth2 is offline  
Old 11-28-2004, 01:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2
Default

Yes it is Willamette. It's $88 for each each 256 module. I thought my computer required RDRAM only. Would SDRAM work properly?
mf01 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.