Memory Timing - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
View Poll Results: What internet browser do you use?
Internet Explorer 15 26.79%
Mozilla Firefox 32 57.14%
Opera 6 10.71%
Netscape 3 5.36%
Voters: 56. You may not vote on this poll

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-23-2005, 09:40 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Angry Memory Timing (There's a poll here to)

MEMORY HELP!!!!

Hi my name is Arinder and I'm 15. I recently went to my BIOS and was just checking if everything was at the right settings. Then I found something called DRAM Timing. At the bottom I could select anyone of these following options: 8/10, Normal, Fast, Turbo. I want to know what these setting are for and what they do.

My PC:
Giga-Byte 6VEM Mainboard
1.3 GHz Intel Celeron overclocked to 1.56GHZ
1x 248 MB PC133 SDRAM SHARED DIMM 168
1x ATA133 Maxtor 80 Gigabyte Hard drive 6Y080LO
8 MB Trident 3DBlade/Promedia INTEGRATED
Windows XP and Windows 98
4 Mega bits Flash ROM F8
VIA Bridges
Cool Master fan and heatsink (runs at 6027 RPM!)
LG CD-RW Drive 52x24x52x
SAMSUNG CD DRIVE 48x
VIA AC'97 Audio

( You may have found out that why I even use this piece of crap. It's cause some mechanic told my dad that this was the fastest computer that time ( HELLO! HYPER-THREADING PROCESSORS WERE OUT YOU KNOW?)
LOL, so now I'm stuck with this until I get a job.

And one more question. What's supposed to be the idle CPU temperature, cause I think mines running way to low ( It's overclocked over than 200 MHz and it runs at 41 C)


Future Upgrades:

1x 512 SDRAM PC133 Memory
1x ATI All-In-Wonder VE (PCI)
1x Dual layer DVD rewriter.
1x Some PCI sound card
__________________

desiboi is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 09:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

dont fell bad im 15 to ihave to wait to geet a job to. them settings are to overclock your memory.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 09:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

OK thanx for da info. So if I overclock the memory, will it shorten the life of the memory?
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 02-23-2005, 10:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

no it shouldnt i think but it will you know OC and what kind of memory you using.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.