Memory tester program - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-20-2005, 10:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 351
Default Memory tester program

Could someone recommend me a reliable memory tester program. I would like to test my ram sticks for errors.

Thanks.
__________________

espeed is offline  
Old 03-20-2005, 11:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Memtest86+
__________________

__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 02:44 AM   #3 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

www.memtest.org
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 02:50 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Doom3 lol a game like that, or HL2, far cry, those top end games will test your whole system a lot more than any program can. I've had my RAM and CPU both memtest86+ and prime95 completely stable and games would still crash. If you can play a nice intensive game for hours, your system is A.OK
Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

memtach93 also not bad~~~
can have a try~~~
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 07:42 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
Doom3 lol a game like that, or HL2, far cry, those top end games will test your whole system a lot more than any program can. I've had my RAM and CPU both memtest86+ and prime95 completely stable and games would still crash. If you can play a nice intensive game for hours, your system is A.OK
But on the other hand, I can run games for years and never have a crash.

But 15 minutes of prime 95 and it error's.

This is due to my FPU not being 100% stable I think, which doesnt matter that much in Gaming (hence why i dont crash their or dont have a peformance loss)
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.