Memory Speed, slower than normal - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2003, 06:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 127
Default

check your mobo manual for the correct bios setting. You can find it here
__________________

fiezk is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 09:25 AM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by illippinno
are you sure about that? cuz in the packages of my ram, it says pc2700 is 333mhz and on the pc3200 its 400 mhz.
Chances are you bought that OCZ (or other brand) overclocked memory. I wouldn't touch the stuff.
__________________

__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 07:06 AM   #13 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

pc 3200 DDR SDRAM is 400 MHz. You're confusing it with the 2700.
Kingston and Corsair do offer 3200 at 400 MHz. You can indeed buy 3200 OCZ, although they are still rated at 400 MHz and you are right, I wouldn't touch that stuff either.
Just checked on both Corsair and Kingston sites
__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 08:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 8
Default

3200 is ALWAYS DDR200=400mhz.
Why?
400 times 8 is 3200
333 times 8 is 2664(2700)
266 times 8 is 2128(2100)
3200 means 3200mb/s
2700(which is rounded up cos of marketing purposes) means 2700mb/s
and so on
The J is offline  
Old 11-27-2003, 10:33 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 506
Default

You are quite right, however, since DDR writes and/or reads on both rising/falling edge of the clock pulse, the actual effect is close to, but not equal to 800 MHz due to error checking and corrections wich will sometimes require data to be re-written or re-read.
__________________

__________________
My gaming machine:

P4 2.8 GHz
2 X 512 MHz PC3200 in dual DDR mode
Intel D865PERL MOBO
integrated 6.1 MAX audio
Logitech duo MX mouse and KB
ATI RADEON 9800 PRO
zerozero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.