Memory Question/DDR2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-10-2009, 10:37 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Question Memory Question/DDR2

look the pictures. why my ram have only 400Mhz. well i bought a 800Mhz. it's so confusing.




http://i430.photobucket.com/albums/q...kinova/123.jpg Pic1
http://i430.photobucket.com/albums/q...inova/1234.jpg Pic2
__________________

durabox is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Memory Question/DDR2

Individually, they are 400MHz. However as it's DDR2 (dual-channel), they add together to become 800MHz. Not the most technical way to put it but I hope you understand.
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 12:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Memory Question/DDR2

DDR = Double Data Rate

You memory is correct.

DDR SDRAM - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 07:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Memory Question/DDR2

so, DDR2> x2 > 400Mhz x2 > 800Mhz?
durabox is offline  
Old 11-10-2009, 08:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Nubbleet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Houston/San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 837
Send a message via AIM to Nubbleet Send a message via MSN to Nubbleet
Default Re: Memory Question/DDR2

Yeah, DDR2 means double data rate like Hefe said. So you double 400MHz which equals 800MHz.
__________________
4670K @ 4.4GHz 1.18v | GA-Z87X-UD4H | 8GB G. Skill 1866 | 128GB Crucial M4 | 750GB WD Caviar Black | MSI 7850 Twin Frozr | Megahalems | 650TX | CM690
Nubbleet is offline  
Old 11-11-2009, 08:37 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 26
Default Re: Memory Question/DDR2

oh thanks. i understand now. thx
__________________

durabox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Borderlands configuration file help? Chad711 PC Gaming 12 11-01-2009 06:36 PM
Computer Memory Optimizer Minimem Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 08-23-2009 03:34 PM
Installing 4850 HD brings both cpu and gpu to 100% phaux Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-24-2008 12:43 AM
Memory speed related to Overclocking Wease Overclocking and Modding 2 01-22-2008 10:04 PM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-26-2007 12:03 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.