memory question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-26-2003, 10:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 374
Send a message via AIM to Soloman02
Default memory question.

I have 512Mb of K-Byte DDR 333 memory. I am planning on getting another stick of 512. If i bought high performance memory(corsair xms, kingston hyper-x etc.) would it perform faster with this memory, or should i just go out and buy another stick of what i already have?
__________________

__________________
Desktop specs:
AMD Athlon XP 2500+@ 200x11 - EPoX 8rda3I - Thermaltake 420watt silent PSU - 2x512MB PNY PC3200(DualChannel) - TT HSF - PNY 5900SE, 128MB DDR, 256-bit - - Toshiba SD-R5002: DVD-RW - NEC DVD-RW - 2 Antec 80mm fans - 1 Delta 92mm fan - 1 Antec 120mm fan- 1 TT 120mm fan - Windows XP Pro - WD special edition 80GB 7200 RPM- Seagate 80GB 7200 RPM 8MB cache - Onboard Sound - Onboard Ethernet

Notebook specs:
ACER Travel Mmate 4000LCi - Intel Pentium M 710 - 15\" XGA TFT - 512MB DDR333 - 40 GB HD - DVD-rom/CD-RW Drive - WLAN 802.11b/g - Winxp Home - Intel Extreme Graphics - Average Battery Life: 4-5 hours - 6.4 lbs
Soloman02 is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 12:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

the answer to that is simple,..brand names like corsair, crucial,.etc are likely to perform at the same speed as any other rams in the category you mentioned,..the only difference is that...these are quality rams and are less likely to fail, compared to generic/cheap rams.
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 02:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 48
Send a message via ICQ to Danny_M
Default

Some memory are tempremental with diffrent type it normally causes the computer to crash so make sure you have the correct pc like if the one you have is pc 333 pc2700 have the same it could screw up.
__________________
Computer Stats:
Windows XP Pro SP1
ABIT nForce2 NF7-M
AMD Anthlon XP 2500+ Barton Core
128Mb Geforce 4 Ti
512 MB DDR PC333 PC2700
Danny_M is offline  
Old 11-26-2003, 04:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by devlish96
brand names like corsair, crucial,.etc are likely to perform at the same speed as any other rams in the category you mentioned,..the only difference is that...these are quality rams and are less likely to fail, compared to generic/cheap rams.
that is completely untrue. so you are saying that i am paying 2-3 times more for my corsair memory than generic bottom of the barrel memory just because it is more relaible? that makes no sense at all. many low-budget memory are more relaible than the high quality memory.

Soloman02 you will notice a big difference in speed actually due to the lower latency from the memory timings on high quality memory.

but for your purpose if you mix generic memory with quality memory you are defeating your purpose. you should either stick to getting another low-priced memory module or replacing the k-byte memory with only high quality memory.

it is like mixing high quality gasoline with low quality gasoline ... okay maybe thats not a good analogy
ekÆsine is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.