memory question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2005, 06:17 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default memory question

would running two 512mb=1gb of corsair xms memory at ddr 400 3200 not in dual chanell or running those 512's with a 256 mb in third slot at ddr 333 be better.
__________________

jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to Counter-Strike
Default

2x512's in Dual Channel w/out question.
__________________

__________________
<img src=\"http://img175.imageshack.us/img175/5743/sig9cd1.gif\" border=\"0\">
Check out www.advancedgeeks.com Great new forum!
Counter-Strike is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default

but i dont have dual channel
jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Sorry Jester, I had to laugh there cos I thought you were talking about dual channel, guess we can't read.

Won't the 333 memory drag your 400s down to 333?
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:36 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default

Hold on, let me refrase, I have 2 512mb of corsair in now, which is ddr 400, 3200. My motherboard has three slots but when 3 sticks are in, it can only run max at 333, so would running two 512s at ddr400, be better then running those with an extra 256 but only at ddr333.
jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

Personally I would stick with 1GB at 400 rather than 1.25GB at 333. Just my opinion. It all depends on what you need to do, as the extra memory may let you open more windows and multi task more (Marginally) but for gaming and things I think you would actually be running slower.

You may even find that the 256 doesn't whant to play with the 2x512. Memory is a funny thing.
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 142
Default

alright ill run the two 512s
jester6565 is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 06:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

If in doubt, try it and run a benchmark before & after, like Sisoft Sandra (Free download) and it will tell you if there is any difference in speed. Go on, you got me interested now :-)
__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:05 PM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

MAYBE if it was 2gb of DDR333 vs 1gb of DDR400 it'd be a tougher decision....but your losing quite a bit of memory bandwidth for a minimal gain in actual memory space....

1gb of DDR400 no question
Nubius is offline  
Old 08-12-2005, 07:10 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 147
Default

I know, but I'm curious now as to how much of a difference it would make.

Besides, if he's anything like me, I would hate to have an extra DIMM lying around doing nothing. It would haunt me.
__________________

__________________
If it wasn\'t for Electricians you would be using your computer by candle light

Computer:
Athlon 64 3500+
ASUS A8V-E Deluxe Motherboard
2x512MB 400MHz DDR Dual Channel
Gigabyte X800XL - 256MB Mem
Maxtor Y160M0 - 160GB SATA
Maxtor 80GB PATA
Xaser III Case
Win XP Pro SP2
ViewSonic VX924 19\"LCD 4mS(ish)
CJJohnson is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.