Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2005, 08:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default Memory Question

Whats the difference between SDRAM AND RAM they look the same
__________________

xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

Sd ram - slow - old - not used in new pc's.



As you see there is two nothes on the bottom. Sd ram is slower.

rdram - EXPENSIVE - I think it is very fast though.




DDR - the real erplacement of sd ram, fast, affordable low latencies.

As you can see, one noth on the bottom.



DDR2 - used by intel - fast, but DDR is better, at the moment, - quite expensive

DDR2 is longer than DDR as it has more pins.



sodimm, used in laptops,

__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:58 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

ohh dang thanks that really help lol
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:59 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 587
Send a message via AIM to Sport1031
Default

SDRAM is an older type of RAM, you dont compare RAM and SDRAM. You can compare SDRAM and DDR RAM. DDR is newer and faster and better.
Sport1031 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

wait im on ebay and the SD RAM AND DDR RAM look the same
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 09:03 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 226
Send a message via AIM to xAznPrid3x
Default

nvm ppl on ebay dont know how to put their **** in the right place
xAznPrid3x is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:45 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Their is only slight differences between DDR and SD RAM

DDR Ram is SD ram, but sends two things per cycle. SD sends one.

RD RAM is not that high of peformance anymore, but I love the WARNING HOT SURFACE thingy on the ram

You forgot EDO and simms, even though their super old skool
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

Pretty much everybody uses DDR these days. Only the fastest intel machines use DDR2.
__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Post

Single/Double Data Rate Synchronous Dynamic Random Access Memory
LoTeX is offline  
Old 11-19-2006, 02:52 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 29
Default

Yeah he's right..
SDR SDRAM
DDR SDRAM

umm, anyone can give me some info about DDR2 SODIMMs? i want to know their pins, voltages and compatibilities..thx!
__________________

mj9999 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.