Memory Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-28-2004, 01:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default Memory Question

I have a question regarding a memory stick. Currently I only have 256 MB of RAM in my hard drive and I'd like to update to more memory. Anyone have any suggestions as to how much more I should go on a memory stick?
__________________

Julez1054 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 02:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: "Almost Heaven" USA
Posts: 4,866
Send a message via AIM to Dave Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Default

Hi Julez, I moved this here to the appropriate forum so you might get some proper answers.

Dave
__________________

Dave is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 02:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 283
Default

Do you mean 256mb of ram in your computer, if so get another 256mb which will the equal to 512mb.
__________________
BRoWZ is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 03:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 133
Default Re: Memory Question

Quote:
Originally posted by Julez1054
I have a question regarding a memory stick. Currently I only have 256 MB of RAM in my hard drive and I'd like to update to more memory. Anyone have any suggestions as to how much more I should go on a memory stick?
What kind of system specs can you tell us about your computer. What kind of processor, mtb, operating system?
Blueman is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 04:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

I have Windows XP, not sure of the other specifications at the moment because I'm actually at work right now. Thank you for the tips though. Anyone know where I can find some cheap memory sticks possibly online? Let me know. Also, I'm not exactly a computer expert when it comes to the technical hardware stuff, but I'm assuming installing the new memory stick is quite simple...?
Julez1054 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 05:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

yeah man installing memory is a snap....literally. If you have the common sense of a 10 year old and the steadiness of rock you'll be good. All it is is literally a stick, I'm sure you've atleast seen a stick of ram.

www.zipzoomfly.com

is a nice site for some good cheap ram. So is:

www.newegg.com

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Enlarg...uctCode=240143

Check out that board. See the two light blue slots on the bottom right? There's your RAM slots. You push those two white clips out then push down on the RAM into the slot while bringing up those white clips until they click into place! It's that simple. The only thing you gotta look for is a groove on the ram that's a little off-center. You gotta match that up otherwise the RAM won't be seated correctly. A very common mistake and I've found myself start to almost put the RAM in backwards. It's REAL easy to change RAM so don't be worried about it one bit

On the amount of memory you want to upgrade depends like most said, on your current system, if you only have 256mb RAM then another 256mb RAM would be pretty good. But if you have PC2100 RAM and could fit in PC3200 (just an example) then that's something to think about. So we need to know the kind of memory the 256 is too Then there's always high performance memory, value memory, and all that good stuff. Good luck and welcome to the forums
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 06:52 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

careful of electro-static discharge. Ground yourself first so you dont fry the mem module
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 09-28-2004, 06:59 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

Quote:
careful of electro-static discharge. Ground yourself first so you dont fry the mem module
Bah good save killian! Yes that is a very important factor to remember. Always touch the metal sides of your case to make sure any static charge that might be building up is released onto something not important
Nubius is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 01:08 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 393
Default

yes like the ground! lol
__________________
\"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it.\"
-Aristotle
_SiLv3R_ is offline  
Old 09-29-2004, 12:18 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8
Default

Thanks guys for the help, it's appreciated BIG time. Last question is this....how do I know which amount of pin's to get? I noticed some of the memory sticks have a different number of pins....

Any suggestions?
__________________

Julez1054 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.