Memory problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-08-2005, 08:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 69
Default Memory problems

I have a 2.8 P4 with 1 gb of PC3200 corsair, Radeon 9200, DFI865PE mainboard and my PC runs like crap. I thought hyper-threading technology would allow me multitask like a madman, but it seems that when a run more than 6 or 7 things at once my PC will stall a bit and I will have to begin closing things to regain some strenght. Eventually I normally have to reboot after I have been on it a few hours, just to reset the memory. Is this what some of you experience...Am I just being greedy and trying to do to much ??? Any advice ???

Typical programs run throughout the week: IMESH, SHAREAZA, NETSCAPE, IE, MOZILLA, WEBSHOTS, FRUITY LOOPS, PALM DESKTOP, IOMEGA HOTBURN, ADOBE READER AND PHOTO, POKERSTARS, TRAKTOR DJ STUDIO, JASC PAINT SHOP 8, WMP

Not to mention the typical utility programs: Spybot S&D, Adaware, Spyware Blaster, Norton, CClean

THanks, Ray
__________________

daddy_ray is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 08:52 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

use a program called 'Freemem' just google that name. It'll tell you how much RAM is being used in your system and even frees some up after closing apps and on windows start.

Also you could try memtest86+ just to make sure the RAM isn't erroring or anything, but it doesn't sound like it is.

Could just be taxing it too much
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 02-08-2005, 08:58 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

No way dude. It shouldn't give that kindda problems with your system. I run more extensive applications (simulations etc.) on my PIII 650 without any problems. And I only have 256 MB of memory on that system .. I only reboot maybe once every 2-3 days.
Chankama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.