Memory Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2005, 08:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default Memory Problem

I have just tried to help a friend put in some memory I bought for him and when I put the mem in the computer doesn't boot up.

The motherboard is an ATHLON XP2700+ and the memory is DDR2700 matrix.

THe two memory sticks that were alreasy on the motherboard were ddr2700 also. We tried as many combinations of the stick as possible and it only seems to work in the original config.

When theres a problem, the lights on the front of the machine turn opn and the fan kicks off, but the monitor doesn't register anything and stays on standby. There is no beeping at all.

Is this common, or simple to resolve?

Thanks in advance,

Gaz.
__________________

Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Him
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him
Default

What is the original config of the ram? Is there any way you can run the computer with all of the sticks? Download memtest86 and run that. What EXACTLY is the motherboard? Who makes it? Athalon 2700+ is the name of the cpu and not the mobo. How much ram were you trying to put in and how much does it already have?
__________________

Him is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 10:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default

I'll have to find out the motherboard. There are two 256mb sticks in alreadylike I said, and I am going for an extra 512 like I said.
Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

What if you try just the 512 by itself. Also, try the 512 on another computer (if you can). You might have bought a bad stick of RAM.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 01:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194
Default

What is the motherboard? Use more pressure to push the module into the slot. How big is the power supply?
__________________
Crucial Performance Lab
http://images.crucial.com/images/v8_...ucial_logo.gif
www.crucial.com
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to cpl@micron.com
CrucialLabs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.