Memory Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-17-2005, 07:33 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98
Default Memory Problem

I have just tried to help a friend put in some memory I bought for him and when I put the mem in the computer doesn't boot up.

The motherboard is an ATHLON XP2700+ and the memory is DDR2700 matrix.

THe two memory sticks that were alreasy on the motherboard were ddr2700 also. We tried as many combinations of the stick as possible and it only seems to work in the original config.

When theres a problem, the lights on the front of the machine turn opn and the fan kicks off, but the monitor doesn't register anything and stays on standby. There is no beeping at all.

Is this common, or simple to resolve?

Thanks in advance,


Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 08:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,190
Send a message via AIM to Him Send a message via Yahoo to Him

What is the original config of the ram? Is there any way you can run the computer with all of the sticks? Download memtest86 and run that. What EXACTLY is the motherboard? Who makes it? Athalon 2700+ is the name of the cpu and not the mobo. How much ram were you trying to put in and how much does it already have?

Him is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 09:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 98

I'll have to find out the motherboard. There are two 256mb sticks in alreadylike I said, and I am going for an extra 512 like I said.
Greencow_555 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 11:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
Elbatrop1's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057

What if you try just the 512 by itself. Also, try the 512 on another computer (if you can). You might have bought a bad stick of RAM.

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-17-2005, 12:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

What is the motherboard? Use more pressure to push the module into the slot. How big is the power supply?
Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to
CrucialLabs is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:56 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.