Memory problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2004, 03:29 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Default Memory problem

I've haf a problem wif my memory.. i haf recently bought a 512 DDR ram so that my total physical ram is 640mb.. however, when doing vid editing using Ulead Video Studio 8, i've encounter problems of lagging and hanging of the com.. the task manager says the commit charge is max or something and i closed all the program b4 doing the vid editing.. the page file usage graph is also peak... can someone help me or tell me wat's wrong?
Thanz alot...
__________________

tikitaha is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 06:02 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

tikitaha,

First, is your new memory working fine?Does it show 640 MB in your POST or in windows?
And , does your computer hang only while editing videos ? If not, there is likely a illegal program running at the background.
__________________

intercodes is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 09:50 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Default

Quote:
First, is your new memory working fine?Does it show 640 MB in your POST or in windows?
Yeah... it show 640mb at the system info..

Quote:
And , does your computer hang only while editing videos ? If not, there is likely a illegal program running at the background.
Yeah.. it only hangs when i use do video editing.. Thanz for replying..
tikitaha is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 09:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

how big is your pagefile? Do you have enough disk space? Maybe Ulead uses your disk for temporary storage.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 10:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 973
Send a message via Yahoo to intercodes
Default

tikitaha,

There is an update which fixes the crashing problems in ulead .Download this ftp://ftp.ulead.com/pub/updates/vide...8_patch1_e.exe . More info here

Hope this helps/...

and also try reinstalling your video codecs.
intercodes is offline  
Old 12-14-2004, 01:22 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 74
Default

Oh thanz both of u so much.. i didn't noe there's an update.. thanz alot..
__________________

tikitaha is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.