Memory Leak?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-26-2005, 01:19 AM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default Memory Leak??

I think i have some type of memory leak,After using simple stuff all my memory get's eaten up,Even after just sittng idle sometime's it doe's the same thing Is there any way of testing memory for leak's? It's just generic crap but it has to last me for a while untill i can get my new part's
__________________

Shumway is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:22 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

this happen to a friend of mine no matter how much ram he put in there it leaked or was down sized some how. i think it was becasue he upgrade have the parts from a old computer. i dont know. mit be your new parts are affecting it maybe.
__________________

__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:31 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

No new part's yet,This has only happened for about the last 2 week's,At first i thought it might be due to a virus or spyware but i found nothing like that,The system isn't really that old either,I think it's just crapping out on me
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:33 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

memory is saying bye bye then.
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:44 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

check to see if theres a strange goo around the RAM



...sorry shumway couldnt resist , just got up from taking a little 30 minute POWER NAP so I'm still groggy
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:46 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: A system that rotates chaotically while simulations indicate irregular and unconventional behaviour.
Posts: 477
Default

When I used win98 that was happening almost all the time. With 2k and xp, never.

So I don't think it's hardware related.

You could run a reg cleaner or if you wanna go deeper, install another copy of windows and see how it's acting.
LoTeX is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:49 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

call your plumber up

The most obvious thing to do would be to test your memory with memtest, although if your memory was erroring I would see it leading more to system crashes than bad memory fragmenting.

I would check your process list via ctrl + alt + del and see what applications are eating up your memory. That would be an easy way of pinpointing whether it is software or hardware originated
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:52 AM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
check to see if theres a strange goo around the RAM



...sorry shumway couldnt resist , just got up from taking a little 30 minute POWER NAP so I'm still groggy
I think all that rice water is catching up with ya there pal

Quote:
Originally posted by LoTeX
When I used win98 that was happening almost all the time. With 2k and xp, never.

So I don't think it's hardware related.

You could run a reg cleaner or if you wanna go deeper, install another copy of windows and see how it's acting.
I'm running on a kind of fresh install of XP,I use a registry cleaner every once in a while too,It just seem's kind of wierd if i play game's it's all right but if i let it sit or do something else it eat's the mem all up
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 01:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gaara
call your plumber up

The most obvious thing to do would be to test your memory with memtest, although if your memory was erroring I would see it leading more to system crashes than bad memory fragmenting.

I would check your process list via ctrl + alt + del and see what applications are eating up your memory. That would be an easy way of pinpointing whether it is software or hardware originated
Ran memtest a while back with no kind of error's,I'll run again and check thing's out later,Also looked in my process's and didn't really see anything different than before.
Shumway is offline  
Old 07-26-2005, 08:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 84
Default

it seems like it could be some form of a virus. does the memory load expand while your using your computer, and does it eventually crash?
__________________

__________________
MCSE Certified (passed on second try lol). But am only 15.
TechKid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.