Memory Help - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-21-2005, 11:17 PM   #11 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

OCZ Platinum Rev2
G.Skill LA
PQI Turbos
Patriot XBL

Those are much better OC'ers than corsairs XMS, but of course come with a nice price tag. 1gb will be just fine for your purposes, two gigs isn't really needed yet these days, 1gb is more than enough.

High performance won't really give you a huge boost in performance over valueRAM, high performance is mainly because they can overclock like monsters. The first two on the list can hit 275MHz+ (DDR550) if you know what you're doing. (just make sure you read read read and more reading and you'll be fine)

If you care at all to OC you will need high performance RAM, valueRAM will not OC well because of the cheaper IC's and printed circuit boards.
__________________

Nubius is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by diabloII
why the hell would u need 2 gigs of ram if you're not tasking?

edit; don't get kingston value ram! they are teh sux0rs!
haha i dont know im just asking
__________________

gojonnygo5 is offline  
Old 03-21-2005, 11:18 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 32
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
OCZ Platinum Rev2
G.Skill LA
PQI Turbos
Patriot XBL

Those are much better OC'ers than corsairs XMS, but of course come with a nice price tag. 1gb will be just fine for your purposes, two gigs isn't really needed yet these days, 1gb is more than enough.

High performance won't really give you a huge boost in performance over valueRAM, high performance is mainly because they can overclock like monsters. The first two on the list can hit 275MHz+ (DDR550) if you know what you're doing. (just make sure you read read read and more reading and you'll be fine)

If you care at all to OC you will need high performance RAM, valueRAM will not OC well because of the cheaper IC's and printed circuit boards.
wow thanks
__________________

gojonnygo5 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.