Memory Frequency and CPU FSB Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-14-2005, 05:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to chinagreenelvis
Default Memory Frequency and CPU FSB Question

Hello, folks, it's your new friend ChinaGreenElvis back with more noobster questions about his PC.

First, CPU Front Side Bus speed. My Prescott P4 3.0 GHz comes in a pretty box that says it has a front side bus speed of 800MHz. CPU-z shows the following stats for the processor:

FSB: 200.5 MHz
Bus Speed: 801.9 MHz

Could someone please explain this to me?

Second, Memory Frequency. I have two shiny new 1024MB sticks running in dual channel mode. My motherboard says that PC3200 is supposed to run at a frequency of 400MHz in dual channel, but CPU-z says that my memory frequency is 200MHz.

Once again, I am befuddled. How can I be sure that my system is running at the speed it's supposed to?

If it helps, this is my motherboard: http://www.albatron.com.tw/english/i...asp?pro_id=82#
__________________

chinagreenelvis is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 05:46 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

DDR = double data rate. so it runs as if it were 400mhz but really is 200mhz.

the fsb is quad pumped at 200mhz. 200*4 = 800mhz. So it runs as if it were at 800mhz but is at 200mhz
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 39
Send a message via AIM to chinagreenelvis
Default

Does this mean my system is bottlenecking between the CPU and the memory?
chinagreenelvis is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Nubius's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 11,600
Default

no, everythings running like it should.
Nubius is offline  
Old 07-14-2005, 08:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Nubius
no, everythings running like it should.
I love this guys answers. Classic... simple yet effective.
HAVOC is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.