Memory Dividers - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-26-2005, 02:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default Memory Dividers

This deserved its own topic.

Now that I know what memory dividers are and what they do...whats the catch? Why doesn't everyone use them? If you could go to 250MHz on valuememory, why would you bother to buy overclocking RAM? Just seems fishy to me.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I almost wrote an essay about this when you asked me, why dont you post it here to allow other people to see?

OR, you can play with your memory dividers yourself and see

EDIT: I found it

Okay in your system, your memory is 1:1 with the FSB (DDR400 is actually 200mhz)

If you make that divider 5:6 your RAM run's at lets say 166mhz when your FSB is 200 mhz.

You raise your FSB to 210 mhz it's now (FSB * 5/6 [0.833_]) which gives you a new memory speed of 175 mhz now.

At 250 it is 208mhz, which is an overclock almost any memory can do and your processor is nwo running much faster.
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:43 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Oh yeah, and about the where you can buy memory dividers thing.

Their built into EVERY motherboard I can see, it's where you adjust the frequency of the memory in the BIOS.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 02:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Dude I know about and read three times what you wrote. It was an excellent description and I thank you for that, but my question is, is there another side effect of using memory dividers? Why doesn't everyone that overclocks use memory dividers? Is there a risk in using them? I'd play with them, but I don't want it to mess with anything else in my system that I don't know about.
Flanker is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 04:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

No risk, no anything. It's just people have a hard on for running memory 1:1.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 08-26-2005, 05:01 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Lol, ok. Thats so awesome, thanks dude.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.