Memory Corsair XMS 1Gb or 1.5Gb ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2004, 02:44 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default Memory Corsair XMS 1Gb or 1.5Gb ?

My new system :

Athlon 64 3800
Asus 939 motherboard ( think it's the A8V delux )
1Gb Corasir XMS
256Mb X800XT

Is it going to be a waste of money upgrading to 1.5 Gb ram
for a gaming system

will there be a real jump in improvement or not really.
__________________

jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

well, if you want to . . .

meaning if you have the cash . . .

though, i'd just save it for a sweet sound system or monitor, etc
__________________

__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 02:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default

Thanks.
I think I shouls have put my question differently :

I there a ceiling. Is there a point where more ram will make no diffence. in gaming performance anyway?
jjjdup is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:05 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 1,714
Default

i think there is a ceiling for gaming, but I know some people with 8GB of ram in their G5 mac, and it really does help . . .

but they do video editing and extreme photoshop and stuff like that
__________________
<SMALL><font color=\"blue\">Desktop
AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Winchester @ 2000MHz
MSI K8N Neo4 nForce4 Ultra
ThermalTake Tsunami Dream Black w/ Side Window
Antec Neopower 480W
Maxtor 250GB SATA + Seagate 200GB SATA
Patriot 2GB (2x1024) PC3200
NEC ND-3520A DVD+/-RW
Dell 2005FPw 20.1\" Widescreen LCD
ATi Radeon x800XT
-----------
Avatar - Infiniti G35
</font>
koldapu is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:06 AM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 185
Default

I don't know that there is a ceiling on how much RAM you can have, the more the better in my opinion. Having said that, you should not need more than 1GB anytime soon, unless you want to do away with your virtual memory altogether. I don't recommend that either.
__________________
\"The surest way to corrupt a youth is to instruct him to hold in higher esteem those who think alike than those who think differently.\" Friedrich Nietzsche
cajun33 is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 03:08 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

i think for gaming 1Gb of ram is more than enough
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:21 AM   #7 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 2,932
Default

When you talk about a ceiling, there's a lot of factors to consider.

First, what's the bandwidth of all the components in your box?
Two, what's the load put on your system by the games you're running? (If you play Half-Life, the load will be less than if you're playing Doom3 or UT2k4).
Three, how much RAM can your mobo handle.
Four, how much vRAM does your vid card have, and how well does it run?
And five, how much power do you have? (PS wattage.)

All that will effect your "ceilings."
__________________

-----------------------------------------------
Don\'t hate the player...Hate the game...
ShoobieRat is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 09:25 AM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

Anything higher than 1GB of fast RAM is pretty much useless at the moment for gaming, only the latest games have started using 256MB RAM on a graphics card.

People with more than 1GB RAM are usually developers of some sort.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 10:53 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 492
Send a message via AIM to ThePCmaN
Default

if u have the money for it.. and all ur other parts have been purchased, then go ahead and add it.. im bout to go with 2GB PC3200 (1GBx2) of RAM.. so ill be set for years to come with that ish!!
__________________
<center>
<font color =\"blue\"><b><u>
AmD > Intel</u></b></font>
</center>
ThePCmaN is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 12:35 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 65
Default

Cool thanks.
I think I'll stick with my 1 Gb then.
Thanks.
__________________

jjjdup is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.