Memory brand - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2004, 06:39 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default Memory brand

Would there be much of a difference between

Standard 512Mb (2x 256Mb) PC3200 400MHz Dual Channel DDR Memory

and

Corsair XMS High Performance 512Mb (2x 256Mb) PC3200 400MHz Dual Channel DDR Memory w/Heatspreader

and

Geil High Performance 512Mb (2x 256Mb) PC3200 400MHz Dual Channel DDR Memory w/Heatspreader
__________________

play2lose is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 08:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 774
Send a message via AIM to RyanOldw83
Default

Corsair is the best brand on your list, good RAM makes a big difference.
__________________

__________________
Windows XP PRO:$0, Visual Studio 6:$0, Age of Empires 2:$0, Halo:$0.
Having $100s in free MS software while people are being sued over $.99 songs: Priceless
RyanOldw83 is offline  
Old 01-24-2004, 08:39 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

actually corsair is knda to expensive for me

is geil still good or should I forget it and get standard
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 12:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

The difference in the memory you are describing is the timings. Memory timings can have an effect on performance, especially with dual channel memory. Get the memory with the best timings that you can afford. CL2.5 is good, 2.0 is better, but 3.0 should be avoided. I am simplifying things a little, but you can generally tell the timing speeds by the CL (CAS Latency) Shoot for 2.5 unless you can get 2.0 in your price range. If both are too expensive, just go with 3.0, but be awair it will hurt your performance a little.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 02:30 PM   #5 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

Good info nvalhalla!
__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 04:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
XT
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 788
Default

micro giel ram is still good but your list is also very good. Cas timings are also expensive the lower the better. generally giel produces cas2 and cas2.5 sticks some cas3 sticks same with corsair and kingston normally has cas2.5 and cas3 some cas2. Lower the better just remember.
The main reason for paying more is chip selection. Companys like crucial,giel,crucial take extra time in examing their chips and you pay for that. Munchkin is the best kind of memory but they take a hell long of a time to select chips(modules) for there ram to make it very overclockable. Ocz is also great brand for o/cing. The list of best to worste goes sorta like this but this is the highest series of each manufacteror not there value ram.
Munchkin
Ocz
Corsair
Giel/Crucial
kingston
the rest are just generic ram
XT is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 06:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

standard corsair XMS memory is still better than GEIL. if you dont have integrated video dual channel memorywill slow down your system. if you get the 2x 256MB tham make sure you use the 2 banks that disable dual mode.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 08:18 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 296
Default

so if I have a grapic card I don't need dual channel......is that what ur saying
__________________
[Sig Snipped Due To Excessive Size]
play2lose is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:14 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

I've never heard that using dual channel memory slows down systems with video cards. Hmm...
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 01-26-2004, 11:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Its not that dual channel memory slowsit down. The dual channel MODE slows it down.

and yeah you should go with corsair xms low latency memory
just make sure it works good with your mobo
__________________

Stupid is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.