memory.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-24-2004, 01:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50
Default memory....

I am thinking about getting- BUFFALO FireStix 184-Pin 512MB DDR PC-4000- does anybody know if this brand is reliable i dont want anything failing on me especially ram.
-thanks-
__________________

Jul89 is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 02:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 876
Default

i sugest you get the CORSAIR XMS Extreme Speed Series 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-4000PRO for $138 at newegg i heard good things about corsairs

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-467&depa=0
__________________

phosho510 is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 02:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Shumway's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: London - Ontario - Canada
Posts: 2,729
Default

I have never ever heard of Buffalo ram before,if i were you i would go with some nice Corsair or Kingston.
Shumway is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 03:15 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

got kingston this side, heard good things about corsair too
rookie1010 is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 03:16 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,088
Default

I always get Kingston, make sure its one of the two your pending on.
__________________
Finished With TF.
Codeine is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50
Default

thanks narrowing it down for me now it is either -Kingston HyperX 240-Pin 512MB DDR2 PC2-5400- or - CORSAIR XMS Extreme Speed Series 184 Pin 512MB DDR PC-4000PRO-
could u help me narrow it down
thanks
Jul89 is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 03:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,432
Default

Well one is DDR2 and one is DDR, so that narrows it down for you depending on which type of DIMM your board takes

I would go Corsair over Kingston in a battle of the brands
__________________

<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">Desktop: 3.0ghz HT 800fsb P4, Chaintech 9CJS Zenith, 2x 512mb GEIL Dual Channel DDR400, 80gb 7200rpm ATA HD, Sapphire X800 XT Platinum Edition, Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS, Logitech Z-5300e 5.1 THX Speakers, Turbolink 420watt PSU, Black 19\" Orion Monitor, Logitech MX Duo and Win XP Home</marquee>
<marquee scrollamount=4 bgcolor=\"#000000\">My Wishlist: 74gb 10K SATA Western Digital Raptor...</marquee>
The Merlin is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 04:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 582
Default

you more than likely need DDR not DDR2... unless you have a very new intel chip.
__________________

The World is my trashcan and i intend to fill it...
Leonidas is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 04:11 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 50
Default

thanks for the help
Jul89 is offline  
Old 12-24-2004, 04:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,069
Default

what is the difference between DDR and DDR2
what is a really new INtel chip.

i have got a P4 2.8 GHz, you think i am using DDR?
__________________

rookie1010 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.