Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2004, 01:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default Memory

I'm thinking about purchasing this Kingston ValueRAM 168 Pin 128MB SDRAM PC-133 - OEM for my gateway E-4200 PIII for more speed for $40. Is this a good buy or is there something better?

Thanks, J.
__________________

J20 is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 07:08 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

is that $US?
the RAM you want is KVR133X64C2/128
judging from the RRP at its site, you haven't got a bad deal, but you might want 256 if you're running XP
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 09:22 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 205
Default

Yeah, I'd go 256 if your running XP. You can get Micron mem for 45 buck or so on pricewatch, or kingston for 66.
__________________
Shuttle XPC SB61G2
P4 2.8 800 Mhz FSB
1024 Dual channel DDR400
ATI AIW 9700 Pro
120 GB Maxtor SATA
Lite-On 411S DVD+-R/RW
Logitech Elite Duo wireless KB/Mouse
nvalhalla is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 12:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 79
Default

The Kingston Value RAM is fine. Almost every manufaturers PC133 is OK. PC133 is a no-sweat deal anymore. All you really have to worry about is a good price. When I upped my RAM in my old PC, the PC133 that I bought cost a fraction of what it cost when I first bought the PC and it was much faster RAM than the original RAM
-Target
Target is offline  
Old 03-10-2004, 05:50 PM   #5 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

Ok, well thank yall for the help. I'll go 256 cuz I am runnig xp
J20 is offline  
Old 03-11-2004, 06:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
J20
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 12
Default

what would be better two 128 mb or one 256mb of ram?
__________________

J20 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.