Media Player error after installing CATALYST - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2004, 12:24 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2
Question Media Player error after installing CATALYST

machine: winxp home, ati radeon 9200

before: when i played a video file in media player or any player my tv was showing that video file in full screen even when media player window was inactive (when i was surfing web, etc and media player was running on the back) or when it's not in full screen mode. Which i loved!!!

what i did: install the latest version of CATALYST, happened a week ago or so, which i thought would be better since its the latest version. (by the way, before that installition was the factory one i guess, came inside the vaio package)

now: i can't view video files on tv unless i change tv to primary monitor and then i can't see it on computer.


hayalperest86 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 04:39 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2

can anone help?

hayalperest86 is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 05:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 194

Well, this could be easy or hard depending on your level of computer knowledge. The Radeon 9200 runs well on Catalyst 4.2 drivers and it sounds like you have a major conflict with 4.4. Do you have the latest DX version? The Radeon 9200 is not ment to run the DX9.0b versions well, it is a good DX8.1 video card. True many of you out there are running DX9.0b on a R9200 and it is fine, I realize that but it does not use alot of DX9.0Bs capabilities. I would first get into add/remove programs and remove the new video drivers. Reboot when it asks you to and install an earlier version of Catalyst drivers. This should fix your issue, if not let us know.

Hope this helps.
Crucial Performance Lab
The Memory Experts(SM) at Crucial Technology is now on board to give you straight answers to your memory-related questions.
When responding please provide your full system specs; hardware and software, OS, BIOS, drivers Etc. You can e-mailmemory related questions to
CrucialLabs is offline  
Old 04-13-2004, 05:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
FireFox's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 608

Yea, what crucial said...i did have a DX uninstaller and it was really nice..... but it does exist!
FireFox is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.