Media box - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-10-2009, 08:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Media box

so what's my best bet for getting media onto the TV?

HTPC build?
PS3?
media center? ie. LINKSYS DMA2100 Media Center Extender
apple tv?

what I want
  • stream media on pc to tv
  • network capable (preferably wireless)
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 03:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 155
Default Re: Media box

In my opinion, I think the best out of those choices is an HTPC build. You can have higher storage capacities, as you can choose whatever hard drive you wish. And you'd be able to record as well if you wanted.
__________________

Xandubomb is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Media box

What kind of budget do you have and how do you want your setup? Do you want a KB&M (or wireless keyboard) handing around your living room? Are you going to KEEP your programs that your record or are you going to watch, then dump them?

If you have a laptop, you can do all that with 2 cables. one for audio, and one for video... That's how I have mine here at home... the wife plugs in the 2 cables, sets the PC input on the TV and poof, she's watching whatever she wants. (I have 25ft cables so she has plenty of room) She can also go online with the big screen if she wants... but it's all semi portable, so nothing extra is in the way.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 09:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Press_Corpse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago
Posts: 164
Default Re: Media box

+1 on what Nukem said. It all depends on what you want to spend and where the entire system will be. Another thing to consider, is what the computer/console will be hooked up to: LCD/plasma t.v., projector(not likely)? In any case, I think I would recommend an HTPC as well. You can make them pretty small (put everything in a mATX case and slide it in the back of a t.v. stand, Low profile vieo cards, etc) and just have a couple wires leading to the t.v. and you would be golden.

Price, function and looks is what you should be asking yourself.
Press_Corpse is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 10:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Media box

thanks for suggestions
now that you put it like that, laptop seems like my best bet

I had my doubts at it at first, because usually integrated display adapters aren't great at all on the mobile device.

what tier of laptop should I be looking at? to ensure of smooth 1080P playback

I usually burn videos that I really like onto a dvd after watching, others just deleted
I guess wireless controls would be best..... so I can keep my weight up
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 02-15-2009, 11:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default Re: Media box

My wife uses a Dell 8600 with our 36" LCD 1080i and we have no problems watching a show. You could try craigslist and find one on the cheaper side... then set it up by your TV and then use something like this Newegg.com - ADESSO WKB-4000US 2-Tone 88 Normal Keys USB RF Wireless Mini Keyboard - Keyboards and keep by your seat.
__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 02-16-2009, 02:50 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Media box

The Logitech mini keyboard is really good... but does cost $150.
__________________

zedman3d is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network connection from a physical box to a virtual box cloksin Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 01-08-2009 03:07 PM
Xbox Media Center Cross Platform Alpha Osiris Microsoft XBox 0 08-14-2008 07:01 PM
Log From Jenny's Computer Fat.Clown HijackThis Logs (finished) 1 12-27-2007 09:58 PM
Sling Box Media Set up?! stuaz Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 0 10-27-2007 08:47 AM
Media Library (I Presume) Problem. Nadegas Microsoft Windows and Software 4 06-08-2007 08:27 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.