Maxtor: The Worst Hard Drives Ever - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-17-2004, 05:56 AM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 161
Default

I know these are old hard drives, but I have had a bunch of quantum bigfoots die on me. I switched to a used seagate 17.2 I got off ebay and so far its working good in this old PC. It is real quiet compared to the quantum. TomW
__________________

__________________
Drag racer and snowmobiler trying to learn computers.
TomW is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 06:17 AM   #12 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default

I have a personal loathing for Maxtors. They are the biggest P.O.S.
__________________

__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 06:38 AM   #13 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 348
Default

Hard drives are very quirky things. Ask around and i bet you will be able to find groups of people that have horror stories about every single harddrive model. The fact is that there are so many working parts in a computer that having something going wrong isnt so much a question of will it, but when will it. Hard drives have a lot of moving parts and its understandable that you are going to get a bad few off of a production line.

Having said that, i personally only use WD as i think they are the best. Yet only a couple of posts ago it was said that someone had to return three of them. It just comes down to personal preference i guess.
sithspawn is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 07:46 AM   #14 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Default

Actually WD does have the 3 year warrantly.
ag3 is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 08:10 AM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 722
Default

I have just bought a Western Digital SATA150 Raptor, 10,000 rpm, 8MB cache. It really doesn't want to do anything at all. I bought it a brand new HighPoint controller instead of the onboard and it still doesn't want to do anything.

My first problem with WD, but I expect problems with most HDD manufacturers at some point.
__________________
[size=0.5]Full Aluminium ThermalTake Case
Asus A7N8X-E-Deluxe
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ *400 FSB* Barton (2.2GHz)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Xaser Edition Air Cooling
1024MB Corsair TwinX XMS 3200 (Dual Channel 2x512) 2-3-2-6
256Mb XFX 7800 GS EXTREME
2x WD Raptors (10krpm 8MB Cache) 36.7GB using RAID -0
Video Logic SonicXplosion 5.1 Soundcard
[/size]
Kangaroo is offline  
Old 06-17-2004, 11:30 AM   #16 (permalink)
Older But Wiser
 
kboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: So. Cal
Posts: 1,041
Default

I've always used Maxtor HD's on all my boxes & I've never had a problem. I always thought they were pretty reliable.
__________________

__________________
ASUS Sabertooth 990FX
AMD FX-8150
16 GB Ram
ASUS GeForce 760 GTX


1TB Sata Seagate
100 Gig Maxtor Sata 7200 Rpm
ASUS DRW 24B3S7 ATA Optical
Windows 7 Home Premium
Dell E228WFP 22"
kboy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:44 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.