Maxtor HD question - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 06:58 PM   #11 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 195
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

Here is the Seagate

Newegg.com - Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST3500418AS 500GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives

here is the WD

Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar GP WD5000AACS 500GB 5400 to 7200 RPM 16MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - Internal Hard Drives
__________________

Gee Wally is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:51 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

The seagate APPEARS to be better in that selection...
__________________

c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 09:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

I would look into getting the 32mb cache version of that seagate.
__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:16 AM   #14 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gee Wally View Post
When are your opinions of this type of HD?

thoughts

thanks
I would not give a Maxtor hard drive to my worst enemy. Main reason, as some of the old TF members all ready know, is that my worst enemy will waste no time in wasting the next 12 months in dragging me to court just to he can sue me personally if the drive would happen to fail.

Seriously, I don't care what other people say about the Maxtor ready write rates, I would stay clear of them. The old maxtor factories are most like the reason why Seagate is currently having issues with their drives.
Is funny. Who here remembers the quantium fireball drives. They were great. Then they got brought out by maxtor. Quantium turn to $#!+.
Few years back, Seagate buys out Maxtor. Now Seagate drives are turning to $#!+.
It's so funny how history repeats itself.

Used to be a big seagate fan. However right now, the only drive brand that I am trusting with my life and data is Western Digital.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 02:23 AM   #15 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

KC i am one of the few that remember that far back to what you are mentioning in your post. Yes i do remember the Quantum. Yes i do remember the buyout. Yes i do see the resembelance of history repeating itself.

I will trust WD for my personal data. But since i was given a Maxtor for free to replace a dead drive i wont argue. Since it is only OS data that i always seem to format every few weeks anyway.

Funny thing is the drive that died, was a Seagate....
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 04:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

I would trust a maxtor for a OS, but nothing more.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 05:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

ive got five different maxtor drives ranging from 5 years old to 6 months old, and none of them have ever given me even a slight issue. i'd trust them wholeheartedly (or ive just been very lucky...).

even my 5 year old one still works like a charm...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 05:27 PM   #18 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

I'm kinda glad I went for Hitachi instead of Maxtor now *winces for coming onslaught*
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 06:38 PM   #19 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Yamikotai View Post
I'm kinda glad I went for Hitachi instead of Maxtor now *winces for coming onslaught*
Don't have a problem with Hitachi drives. Then again, about the only time i have seen them has been with 2.5 inch and 1.5 inch drives.

Got respect for Hitachi as they are the guys that developped Perpendiculare technology.

It was not for Hitachi doing that, we would not of have the break through in hard drive sizes as we did in about 2004 - 2005.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Old 03-06-2009, 06:47 PM   #20 (permalink)
Ninja Stargate Addict
 
Da Viksta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oxford/Leeds (UK)
Posts: 431
Send a message via MSN to Da Viksta
Default Re: Maxtor HD question

well from where im standing, id say maxtor is decent....5 of their HDDs and not a problem....lovely...
__________________

__________________
CPU: Intel Core 2 Quad Q9450 @ 3.4GHz
Motherboard: Foxconn Blackops X48
Memory: 8GB DDR3 (1361MHz)
Graphics: ATI 5850 1GB GDDR5
Hard Drives: 1 x 500GB, 1 x 1TB
Case: Antec 900
OS: Server 2008 R2 64bit
Da Viksta is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
32-bit WinXP question, regarding RAM White_Wolf Microsoft Windows and Software 1 12-21-2008 03:19 PM
Samba Questions - Can I use "test" as an acct? + Home Dir Mapping Question. Jayce Linux and Open Source 0 12-01-2008 05:14 AM
COD WAW in 2 weeks Dauntae PC Gaming 8 10-27-2008 04:18 PM
Power Supply Question + Overclocking Question Grievearz New Systems | Building and Buying 21 09-12-2007 12:59 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.