Maxtor hard drives.... - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-07-2005, 10:51 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 4,010
Default

i have a 10gb maxtor harddrive in my 6 year-old pc andit has never failed on me.
__________________

__________________

Cisco CCNA, Comptia A+, 1/3 through CCNP
Trifid is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 12:23 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 431
Default

Seagate drives are know for their reliability
Western Digital for their speed
And Maxtor for being........unreliable
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
MasterJason is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 03:45 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

I just checked my maxtor drive using speedfan. 0% fitness, 100% performace. Its not looking good. 18 months of heavy use put this one to the grave. Lets see how long seagate lasts.

The samsung drives I use have lasted longer than the maxtor, they dont get as much heavy use, but pritty close.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 03:53 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I had two new 160 SATA OEM Maxtor drives from ZipZoomFly, a month after installed the RAID broke, then one wouldnt recognize at all, it spins but doesnt do anything else. I had the other hooked up but it was unreliable, every time I tried to start HL2 it said SATA drive unplugged, I have checked the connections a million times and used diff cables and it still does it. I put my other drive that wasnt working into my buddy's G5 and after like a month one day it started working, he put some data on it, then it quit, now it does nothing. I also have a Maxtor 250 IDE, this one works fine but ofc Windows only recognizes 127gb's so I gotta go do that thing in the run box and get to the HD utility or whatever but I cant remember it. So I think my drives are faulty but not sure if I can do anything since they are OEM, so to make a short story long, there it is.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 03:55 PM   #15 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Some times with windows you have to partition it so it recognizes the whole drive.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 03:57 PM   #16 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

I know but how do you get there? I cant remember the command for the run box.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:01 PM   #17 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

Just go start >> settings >> control pannell >> administrative tools >> computer management >> disk manager

Once there you might have to format and assign a letter to the other part of the drive.
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:25 PM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 125
Default

the explosion from my maxtor killed three people... but there is some good news... i just saved a bunch of money on my car insurrance by switching to geico.
ChipX is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:36 PM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,790
Default

Unless drive companies are just plain bad, there's no declaring a clear winner. Some drives are just built in a bad bunch and will fail, this goes for every company. Sometimes you are stuck with the bad batch, and sometimes the good batch, it's all luck really.

I have had a WD 80GB hard drive since April and it has performed just fine, speaking from experience.

By the way...
Seagate - quiter, slow
Western Digital - reliable
Maxtor - fast, loud
__________________
Intel C2D E6320 / AMD Athlon X2 3800+
Gigabyte 965P DS3 / DFI nF4 Ultra-D
2GB OCZ Gold PC2-6400 / 2GB OCZ Gold PC4000
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB / eVGA 6800GS 256MB
150GB Raptor / 74GB Raptor
2x500GB / 320GB
OCZ GameXStreme 850w / OCZ StealthXStream 600w
gaara is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:38 PM   #20 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

My maxtor is pretty quiet actually. I can only hear it in the middle of the night when it is dead quiet. Even then, its not loud enough to be a problem.
__________________

beedubaya is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.