Math simulations/Gaming system - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-17-2005, 05:36 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

if thats the case, then that would be a bust. Dual procs are for exactly what he said, but of course the budget would have to be there
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 06:18 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 327
Default

ya but arent dual proc crappy for gaming? im thinking that might be overkill for what hes doing.. yess dual proc are good... but prob just not the best in this case imo
__________________

Echo_ is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 06:41 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

should run about as good as a single proc gaming wise (most games, if any as of now, dont support dual procs) and if it does run faster, will be hardly noticable, if at all with games. Where it will shine will be in apps (rendering, fp, and realtime emulation (not game, but engineering) and autocad type apps).
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 07:51 PM   #14 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to YanBooth
Default

Get a 6800 GT instead of the 6600 which is also good...
Yan
__________________
XS RULES!!! I have officially referred you.
YanBooth is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:19 PM   #15 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Thanks guys for the feedback.

But as GageMW said, I am already overbudget.. Don't think dual procs are a viable solution for me given the $$ constraints. Only if my prof would fund me. Don't think that's gonna happen tho.. lol..

So I take it the general consensus is that Intel is the way to go. I'd love to have dual procs, and a Raptor drive to read the data off of during computation. But, both options seem too expensive to me at the moment. Guess I'd have to settle for NCQ..

btw YanBooth, do you REALLY have that system???...
Chankama is offline  
Old 01-17-2005, 08:21 PM   #16 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Ahh.. right.. Future system
Chankama is offline  
Old 01-19-2005, 04:17 AM   #17 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

haha that will be a less than average computer in 10years or so it would take me about 10years to save up for all that as well :P
__________________

__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.