Matching CPU and Memory - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2003, 01:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1
Question Matching CPU and Memory

I have the two of the following board that I am installing the below CPU's on
GA-8IPE1000 (Intel 865PE Chipset)
Can anyone help me with the Memory I should choose to go in it? I am not familiar with which

memory goes with which CPU size.

PC2100 / PC2400 / PC2700 / PC3000 / PC3200 / PC3500 /PC3700 ???? don't know which to


I want 512 MB to start off with.

I have the following two CPU's

Intel Pentium 4 2.4GHz 512k socket 478 Hyper Threading 800MHz FSB

Intel Pentium 4 2.4GHz Socket 478 512k Hyper Threading 533MHz FSB

kottenkandy41 is offline  
Old 07-15-2003, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Veteran Techist Member
Slam'n Systems's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Albany, NY
Posts: 828

I don't think it really matters but I have 2700 in mine! I recommend the higher the better

3DMark FireStrike Ultra: 4,266
3DMark FireStrike: 12,043

  • Intel Core i7 920 Overclocked 3.2Ghz - Megahalem Cooler
  • eVGA E758-A1 X58 Intel LGA 1366 Motherboard
  • Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1600 RAM
  • MSI Armor OC 8GB GeForce GTX 1070
  • eVGA 650W G2 Modular Power Supply
  • Thermaltake Armor+ Full Tower Case
  • Samsung 850 EVO 500GB SSD
  • Corsair Force LE 250GB SSD
  • OCZ Vertex 30GB SSD
Slam'n Systems is offline  
Old 07-15-2003, 01:59 PM   #3 (permalink)
<a href="" target="_blank"><img src="" /></a>
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,765
Send a message via ICQ to Ecniv Send a message via AIM to Ecniv Send a message via Yahoo to Ecniv

you need to find out the FSB of your Proccessor and the FSB of the memory. you want them to be the same.
\"Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I\'m not sure about the former.\"- Albert Einstein (1879-1955)

Ecniv is offline  
Old 07-15-2003, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015

the mobo supports cpu's with 400, 533 and 800mhz FSB and supports up to 4GB of dual channel ddr 266/333/400 (i thinks that's pc2700 and pc3200 for ddr333 and ddr400, respectively,...i forgot whats for the 266).

if you have the cash and you want max system performance, then go ahead and get the ddr400..however you'll also have to consider how the mobo, cpu and rams will mesh together....

buy good quality rams, ...this is almost always the cause of system failures in newly built systems.
devlish96 is offline  
Old 07-16-2003, 12:51 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
Apokalipse's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,556

well you would need DDR RAM, I don't think it matters what speed just if its compatible with the M/B "PC2100 / PC2400 / PC2700 / PC3000 / PC3200 / PC3500 /PC3700 " is a fairly big variety so you shouldn't have much of a prob.
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:56 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.