master cd, slave cd - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2003, 01:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default master cd, slave cd

DOes it really matter which is master and which is slave?
__________________

LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 09-01-2003, 04:59 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,015
Default

hmmm,..i think to some extent it does,...i've read somewhere that you have to set as master the drive you use the most,...but i clearly don't see any difference.
__________________

devlish96 is offline  
Old 09-01-2003, 12:28 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default

normal cd drive and a cd RW
Do i have to connect 2 audio plugs or is just 1 fine on the master slave?
LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 09-01-2003, 08:36 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2
Default

My pc finds both but make sure the master is the one showing in the bios so you can boot from cd with it. As to audio cable if you chose digital out then you do not need a cable.:bald:
cokeman54 is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 09:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 753
Send a message via ICQ to Lostman Send a message via AIM to Lostman Send a message via Yahoo to Lostman
Default

Fret not, with Serial ATA being implemented and being the new standard (well, soon enough) the days of jumper settings are coming to a close.

But currently, I use my CD-Rom as master and my Yamaha CDW-F1 as slave. Reason is this, I spent $130 on my burner (best burner on the market) and I don't want to lessen it's life by running my game CD's. The CD-Rom on the other hand is easly replaceable.

So if you have an expencive burner, keep it as slave, and don't use it for everyday things.
__________________


www.lostman.us
Lostman is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 12:30 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 125
Send a message via ICQ to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via AIM to LaO_xTc_RaVeR Send a message via Yahoo to LaO_xTc_RaVeR
Default

what if i keep it as a master and for every day things i use my normal cd rom?
LaO_xTc_RaVeR is offline  
Old 09-02-2003, 12:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
dethangel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 934
Default

that should be fine, except some older games wont recognise the slave drive for cd-input (games that require the cd)
dethangel is offline  
Old 09-05-2003, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 49
Default

a good tip is to put one drive in the primary id and the other in the secondary id, againg it doesnt matter the order. also the cables is quiet useless if you choose the digital audio, also whit the analoga udio cables there is noise and interferences tath afect the quality of your music, and you convert the audio to analog to reconver it to digital when you conect your analog audio cables back to the mother board or audio card.
iory_yagamy is offline  
Old 09-05-2003, 04:27 AM   #9 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

i'd use the faster drive as master, my computer came with a DVD and a burner. we replaced the burner with a 52x and now that is the master
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.