Manufacturer Vid. Card. Question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2004, 10:25 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default Manufacturer Vid. Card. Question

I just ordered a new computer today. Sadly, it has integrated 64mb graphics. Now, I want to look for a decent video card, something under 100$ will do the job. Currently I have an old Radeon 7500 on my p3 500mhz.

Now I see in many stores that some vid cards, for example the 9200 is fairly cheap, maybe 20-50$ cheaper. However, on the box it says another name, for example, Saphire ATI blablabla. Now what does this mean? Whats the diff. between the Saphire ATI and the actualy ATI ? And does it differ a lot in performance?

Thanks.
__________________

fofoo is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:28 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Sapphire is the manufacturer, so is Radeon, PowerColor and others. No diff in performance, diff in price and package contents. I would recommend something by Radeon or Sapphire only. If you plan to play games dont go under to a 9800 pro...
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to Spartan 1394
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GameGURU
Sapphire is the manufacturer, so is Radeon, PowerColor and others. No diff in performance, diff in price and package contents. I would recommend something by Radeon or Sapphire only. If you plan to play games dont go under to a 9800 pro...
Radeon is not a manufacturer, it's a product line made by ATI. ATI is the manufacturer.
__________________
<img src=\"http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v210/alienhunter2049/Mysig.png\">

\".......die screaming with sharp things in your head\"

Proud Bush supporter.
Spartan 1394 is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default

Well like i said before I do not need to play games at very high resolutions. I am fine with a 1024x768. However I have very little money to spend as do you think my Intel Integrated 64mb would perform better or a GeForce MX? [Yes, MX]
fofoo is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

if u r running P3, probably your mobo only support AGP4X, u get a GeForce 4 MX also enough. I can play Far Cry using my GeForce4 MX440 too.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:31 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

Nah I would get a PCI card, they are a whole lot cheaper.
__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:33 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

just that hardly to get a PCi card.
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 07-31-2004, 11:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 217
Send a message via AIM to NeoNemesis
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by didi
just that hardly to get a PCi card.
What???
__________________
<font size=\"4\" <a href=\"http://s7.invisionfree.com/NeoForum/index.php\">My Forum</a>
we are just starting out so we need you to join!
NeoNemesis is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 12:42 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 29
Default

didi probably meant its rare to find a PCI card these days. ANyways. Im back guys. This time, I want to know how the comparison is between an ATI Radeon 9200 SE 128mb and the GEForce MX 440 64mb, because I can get the 9200 for 67$ and the GEForce for 54$.

THanks!
fofoo is offline  
Old 08-01-2004, 12:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,543
Default

Geforce back then was alot better, go with nvidia.

i thought that the companies who distrubuted the cards were manufacturers...
__________________

__________________
15'' Macbook Pro
Intel Core 2 Duo 2.16ghz
x1600 128MB
1GB DDR2 SDRAM
Windows XP/Mac OSX 10.5


No longer a Guru of games...
GameGURU is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.