Making games run faster... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-21-2004, 09:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default Making games run faster...

Getting more RAM, and a better video card, would that make the games run any faster. Like have better FPS rates ? Or is my processer going to skrew me over on trying to play any of these latest games ?
__________________

__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

it will help. but if your CPU cant keep up with your GPU then its no use...
__________________

__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Sorry, but a 960MHz processor is not enough for todays games. You need at least a 2GHz or equivalent.
beedubaya is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

Could i upgrade my CPU ? I saw some Socket A CPU chips on newegg for like 90 bucks. That would still be better than what i got. Like 1.5 Ghz and stuff. Could i use the same heatsink ? Just replace the thermal pad?
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 136
Default

well actually its possible. i used to have a 1.1ghz athlon, 128mb ram, tnt2 pro and then i upgraded to 512mb ram and a 9600xt and i can now play HL2, Far Cry, UT04 fine. you should definetely try to get another 256mb ram if not more and a 9600 pro or something. then if you OC you CPU to say 1.2ghz, you should be able to play modern games fine.
EDIT: but if you upgrade your CPU too (if your mobo can handle it) then you'll be even better off. but it would be smarter to get a whole new system then upgrade every component with still out dated parts... and you would need a PSU to power all this stuff, so if you can afford, just buy a new system
quartz01 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

Awsome . How exactly do i overclock, ive heard alot about it. And does it do damage to my CPU ?
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

it kills your warranty. google "overclock"
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 09:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

oh well, i dotn think i even have a warrenty left anyways. lets say it did fry, then i can get one on newegg for like 50 bucks, thats better than this one. So has anyone heard of frying them by overclocking them, and what would be a safe overclock for a AMD athlon 950Mhz, Thunderbird core.
__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:00 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 251
Default

yes you can fry your cpu by overclocking it too much and not adequately cooling it. And overclocking that thing is a lost cause.. you can get a 2500+ for like $80 thats 1.8 ghz without overclock
__________________
Sig removed due to size. Please read the rules before adding your compliant sig. SigSanta
Forchunet is offline  
Old 12-21-2004, 10:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 107
Default

lol yeah i kinda figured it would be, i just need to spend my xmas money on 256mb of ram, radeon 9600 or better, and a new CPU.

EDIT:

If i did get the new CPU, could i use the same heatsink ?
__________________

__________________
My system-

250Watt Power Supply
AMD Athlon 950Mhz
704MB SDRAM PC133
128MB Radeon 9550
20GB HD
16x CD-RW
Sound Blaster Audio PCI 128D
LAN internet (road runner)
10/100 Ethernet PCI card
Vonage Broadband telephone
Windows XP Home
Chrisman88990 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.