Making a CD boot disk? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2004, 03:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default Making a CD boot disk?

Is it possible to make a CD boot disk? I'm guessing yes, but I don't have any idea how to do it. I'd like to make a CD boot disk and put a BIOS flash utility and BIOS update file on it. Any information would be appreciated.

Had a bad BIOS flash and the FDD was not setup in the BIOS before it flashed, I want to try a couple experiments.
__________________

__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 03:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to DancNSpin
Default

Is it really necessary? I thought that XP could repair the OS straight from the CD, eliminating the need for a boot disk.
__________________

DancNSpin is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 04:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 533
Default

I had a bad BIOS flash and I can't get any video, the FDD is NOT being checked in the BIOS. I wanted to try to see if by any miracle I could run the flash utility from the CD even though I can't see what I'm typing on screen, since I have no display. I've read a couple people managed to reflash their BIOS this way via FDD, but that isn't an option for me.
__________________
Q6600 @ 2.66
Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L
4GB XMS2 Corsair Ram
Sound Blaster Audigy 2 ZS
Evga 275 GTX
500GB Seagate Sata 2 HDD
250GB Western SATA2 HDD
Corsair 850TX Power Supply
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
Samsung 2693HM 26" LCD
Microsoft Keyboard
Logitech MX518 Mouse
Geek Squad 875VA Back-UP UPS
Windows XP SP3
Raphael Argus is offline  
Old 10-29-2004, 04:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 2,172
Send a message via AIM to Win2kpatcher
Default

You can usually eliminate this by pulling out the CMOS battery for about 5 minutes...although I dont know if it holds true for a bad FLASH it is worth a shot. I remember I had to keep doing this when I would overclock to far..lol.
Win2kpatcher is offline  
Old 11-02-2004, 07:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

check the MBD docs. Sometimes there is a bios recovery jumper (not for flashing, but actual onboard recovery). As far as CD, some have a CD iso image that you can use. Make sure you check any jumpers on the MBD, as sometimes there is a jumper that locks the bios.
__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.