Making better - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-06-2005, 04:47 PM   #11 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

can you replace laptop graphics cards?
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 05:21 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

depends if the graphics are integrated onto the mobo or not. with desktops even with integrated onboard graphics you can add a g-card. but laptops are different obviously. If you're lucky and you have a decent laptop with non-integrated graphics you should be able to. You mayyy be able to even with integrated graphics but im not sure. whatever the case it will probably be messy and expensive to do. Tell us the model and brand of laptop you have.
__________________

FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 07:50 PM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

hmm, interesting
__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Old 01-06-2005, 08:01 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 213
Send a message via AIM to The Rage
Default

As far as I know you CANNOT install a graphics card on a laptop. The user can speed up performance by uninstalling unused programs, using msconfig to stop programs from starting up at startup, and ensure there is NO spyware installed on the system.

Look here for more... http://www.blackviper.com/WinXP/supertweaks.htm
__________________
You wouldn\'t like me when I\'m angry
The Rage is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:01 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

well I was somewhat right, but it seems for the most part you cannot. take a look
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 04:06 PM   #16 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Potsdam NY, USA
Posts: 2,003
Send a message via AIM to AND_YOU_ARE Send a message via Yahoo to AND_YOU_ARE
Default

this is one of those posts that could have been helped by this guide :

http://www.techist.com/showthread.ph...5&pagenumber=1
__________________
Member of the right wing conspiracy theory.

X-Fire: andyouare1
AIM: plantagenet51

Ars Technica

Silent PC Review

Xtreme Systems
AND_YOU_ARE is offline  
Old 01-07-2005, 05:06 PM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 530
Default

Thats pretty sweet and totally true, threads get started and moved through hardware so fast. And all too often its because of noobs who are asking the same stupid crap that coulda been google'd in two seconds. I found out I was mostly wrong just by googling and clicking the first thing, I shoulda done it right away before I posted and now feel dumb but oh well.
FoxyLoxy is offline  
Old 01-08-2005, 05:49 AM   #18 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 3,782
Default

when upgrading CPU's, in an upgrade of less than 30% wont show a noticible difference.
__________________

__________________
Core 2 Duo E6400, DFI Infinity 975X/G, 2x 512mb DDR2 667mhz, Albatron 7900gt, WD 200gb SATA, Samsung DVD-RW, Silverstone ST-50EF 500w PSU.
waynejkruse10 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.