Make me the best computer ever.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2005, 05:01 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default Make me the best computer ever....

ok guys....this is because im going into senior year for 3D graphics...BUT lets say you had a $1000 budget. What is the best computer you can build. Its for computer graphics so AMD 64 processor is nessessary (sp?). Go

thanks. im looking around for parts and stuff. anything is helpful.
__________________

lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

for 3d editing you are going to need a very high end vid card, that will easily use up that $1000 dollar budget. Your looking at like an nvida quadro fx 5000 (not sure if that number is correct) They are VERY expensive. The fx quadro 1400 is supposed be pretty good though and are around $2000 if I remember correctly.
__________________

__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

ok well right now im running maya, and my fx5200 is doing ok. renderings take a little bit but its not terrible. The quadro is not fathomable at this time. haha. But i appreciate the response

My bro is also going into computer graphics as a major so im asking this question becasue we will realistically for school have about a $1000 budjet to get him a new computer that lasts at least 3 years.
lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,363
Default

Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128269

CPU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103535

RAM: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820231008

Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130202

Hard Drive: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822144393

PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817103921

Total: $1006.00
__________________

Quote:
Ricer: from the latin word Ricarius meaning to suck at everything you attempt.
desiboi is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:31 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 17
Default

very nice....thanks..

after assembling the computer hardware......how does one install the BIOS and actually get everythign running?
lostmanTech is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 584
Send a message via ICQ to daappleby
Default

the bios comes pre-configured and you can make adjustments if you need to. You will need to put all the parts together yourself and then install and operating system and whatever other software you need.
__________________

Help us Help you:

1) <b>RTFM</b>
2) Search TF using <b>more than one</b> keyword or combination of words
3) Post specific details. We need your computer specs, your OS, and any details from the error messages you get.
daappleby is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 05:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,261
Default

Senior year in college? 3D animation and you don't know anything about computers?
For $1000 you will not be able to build "The best computer"
My setup which is mid to high end cost over $2000.
woot7800GT is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 06:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Chankama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,523
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by desiboi
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813128269

Video Card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130202

Total: $1006.00
You just recommended to the poor guy a PCI-Express mobo and an AGP video card ..
Chankama is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 06:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Beer
 
Calzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: New York
Posts: 565
Send a message via AIM to Calzinger
Default

Am I incorrect in saying that Intels are generally better at rendering? I thought AMDs were just better at your basic gaming as opposed to rendering and 3D animations. After all, this guy is a 3D animator.
__________________
Calzinger is offline  
Old 06-22-2005, 06:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,283
Default

Quote:
You just recommended to the poor guy a PCI-Express mobo and an AGP video card ..
ROFLMAO!! and i agree, i would recomend an intel or dual core AMD for this one.
__________________

PP Mguire is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.