Magnetic RAM - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-19-2004, 02:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
ag3
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,536
Exclamation Magnetic RAM

Anyone know when it will hit production?...?
__________________

ag3 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 03:04 PM   #2 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 8
Default

yo agex000, MRAM is meant to hit production over the next few years and be ready for sale say in 2006. Some websites say that IBM, in cooperation with Infineon, if they can make MRAM chips small enough and cheap enough, we could see them in computers by the end of 2004. (i pretty much doubt that though).
__________________

Jimboy02 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 03:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

What is magnetic RAM?
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 03:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 346
Send a message via Yahoo to rakesh_1024
Default

http://computer.howstuffworks.com/mram.htm
__________________
www.tech-station.net

P4 1.6GHZ Willamette core 400MHZ FSB 256KB L2 cache
Intel 845WN Mobo
256mb SD-RAM
Nvidia Riva Tnt2 M64 G-card
40GB Seagate 5400rpm HDD
300Watt PSU
Intex Cabinet
15 LG Studioworks563N
Creative Inspire2400 2.1 speakers
16x DVD ROM
52x Samsung CD Burner
rakesh_1024 is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 03:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 5,280
Send a message via AIM to beedubaya
Default

Wow..It's about time that we move past DRAM!
beedubaya is offline  
Old 06-19-2004, 06:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 57
Default

lol does anyone have any ideas on the next step for computing? Quamtum? DNA? Spintronics? Light? - let us know
__________________
AMD 2500+, 512mb Mem, 160GB (2xSATA 80GB in RAID0 array), K7N2G-ILSR (using on-board graphics and sound (for the moment ;-) ))

How many windows \"errors\" can there be??!!!
CacheUK is offline  
Old 06-20-2004, 04:15 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 3,247
Default

nano computing. They are using carbon nano tubes since they can hold states at the nano scale while normal means can not. Problem is in mass producing and also in cost.
__________________

__________________
If you argue with an idiot he will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

I am not a fast writer.
I am not a slow writer.
I am a half-fast writer.

-Robert Asprin
killians45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.