Made new computer, having serious issues! - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2005, 05:20 PM   #11 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

No, it wont be. get urself this psu, the thermaltake silent purepower 480W for $60
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817153008

Even if the issue isnt power, that PSU is crap and u should another.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 05:22 PM   #12 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Yeah i wouldnt trust my PC to a cheap power supply like that one
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 05:37 PM   #13 (permalink)
AB0
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 54
Default

Well, since you seem to have went cheap on just about everything, it could be one of three things, if not all. XION...hmm. That's such an off brand I've never even heard of it. I would speculate that it is indeed the PSU, since the 450 watt XION PSU at newegg is only $30USD. And none of their 5 PSU's have any reviews. When I heard you got 2gb of ram for $180, that also leaves me wondering. And to top it off, a samsung hard drive. I first suggest you get yourself a real PSU, such as this one. Then, I would suggest you dump the RAM you have now (2gb is complete and total overkill if you are not building a state of the art PC) and get this instead. Last thing left to do, is replace that samsung hard drive with this one. If you do all this, and you still have that problem, I will buy you a custom built alienware rig with a custom paint job of your choice. Oh, one other thing, do NOT get a Thermaltake PSU. They are known to be faulty. If you cant get the one by PCP&W that I suggested, get one by Antec such as this one.
AB0 is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 07:07 PM   #14 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,433
Default

I have never heard of anyone ever having any problems with thermaltake PSUs. Those, antec, and ennermax are all good choices for PSUs.
__________________

__________________





-AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Winchestor
-MSI K8N Neo4-F
-Sapphire Radeon X850 XT
-2x 1024 Corsair XMS Pro

<form action=\"http://www.srsyo.org/tfsearch.php\" method=\"get\">
<input type=\"text\" name=\"search\"><input type=\"submit\" name=\"submit\" value="Search!"></form> Search TF before you post!
dhw200 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.