Machine_Check_Exception - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-14-2003, 01:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Default Machine_Check_Exception

Hello Guys,

Well, i tried to fit my CPU (AMD XP2800 Thoroughbred) into a friends computer:

Abit KD7 Mobo
512Mb PC3200 Ram (running at 333Mhz)
Sapphire Ati Radeon 9800 Pro 256Mb

On Windows XP.

And it thre up various Blue screens. Usually when booting up a gme like Quake III (sometimes it would be when you first saw a bot).

Most Blue screens came without error messages, but sometimes it came up with the following error message:

Machine_Check_Exception

A link to Microsofts KB shows the following article:

http://support.microsoft.com/default...b;en-us;329284

As you can see, it says this error mainly occurs with Pentium proccessors.

Can anyone help?

We fitted his 3000+ CPU after the PC kept crashing, we ran 3D Mark 2003 (another program my CPU crashed in (in the middle of the first test)) and it worked fine!

Dont tell me my CPU is screwed?

Thanks

Karl
__________________

__________________
My Specs
Black + Silver ATX case w/Perspex Window & 7 case fans
ATX 400W Power Supply
Asus A7V8X-X Motherboard w/LAN etc (Bios 13)
AMD Athlon XP2800+ Thoroughbred CPU @ 2250Ghz (stock)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Heatsink/Fan (w/ Antec high-silver thermal compound)
1 x 512Mb Kingston DDR PC2700 CL2.5 (timed: 2.5,2,2,6)
ATi Built RADEON 9800 PRO 128Mb DDR (catalyst 5.3)
Maxtor 120Gb 7200rpm 2Mb Hard Disk Drive
LG DVD-ROM
CD-RW
Soundblaster Live! PCI SoundCard
Cambridge Soundworks 4.1 speakers
Packard Bell 20\" CRT Monitor
Belinea 17\" CRT Monitor
Conexant HCF 56k Modem
Windows XP Professional (SP1)
mouse5150 is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 01:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 934
Default

could be the ram maybe?
__________________

__________________
<font face=arial><h1>spfdz - NEVER FORGET</h1></font>
spfd is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 01:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Default

funny thing is his CPU works fine and its the same FSB as mine.

I asked why he was only running the RAM at 333 when it was 400, he said it was his mobo.

Any more ideas?
__________________
My Specs
Black + Silver ATX case w/Perspex Window & 7 case fans
ATX 400W Power Supply
Asus A7V8X-X Motherboard w/LAN etc (Bios 13)
AMD Athlon XP2800+ Thoroughbred CPU @ 2250Ghz (stock)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Heatsink/Fan (w/ Antec high-silver thermal compound)
1 x 512Mb Kingston DDR PC2700 CL2.5 (timed: 2.5,2,2,6)
ATi Built RADEON 9800 PRO 128Mb DDR (catalyst 5.3)
Maxtor 120Gb 7200rpm 2Mb Hard Disk Drive
LG DVD-ROM
CD-RW
Soundblaster Live! PCI SoundCard
Cambridge Soundworks 4.1 speakers
Packard Bell 20\" CRT Monitor
Belinea 17\" CRT Monitor
Conexant HCF 56k Modem
Windows XP Professional (SP1)
mouse5150 is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 01:35 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Default

the specific memory dump is

0X0000009C
(0X0000009C, 0X8053F0F0, 0XC40D4000, 0X00000136)
__________________
My Specs
Black + Silver ATX case w/Perspex Window & 7 case fans
ATX 400W Power Supply
Asus A7V8X-X Motherboard w/LAN etc (Bios 13)
AMD Athlon XP2800+ Thoroughbred CPU @ 2250Ghz (stock)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Heatsink/Fan (w/ Antec high-silver thermal compound)
1 x 512Mb Kingston DDR PC2700 CL2.5 (timed: 2.5,2,2,6)
ATi Built RADEON 9800 PRO 128Mb DDR (catalyst 5.3)
Maxtor 120Gb 7200rpm 2Mb Hard Disk Drive
LG DVD-ROM
CD-RW
Soundblaster Live! PCI SoundCard
Cambridge Soundworks 4.1 speakers
Packard Bell 20\" CRT Monitor
Belinea 17\" CRT Monitor
Conexant HCF 56k Modem
Windows XP Professional (SP1)
mouse5150 is offline  
Old 11-14-2003, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 100
Default

We did not clear this jumper no. We did however go into the bios and make sure all fsb details and CPU rating details were correct, we assumed this would be sufficient?

Could this be why it happened?

I havent damaged my chip have i?
__________________
My Specs
Black + Silver ATX case w/Perspex Window & 7 case fans
ATX 400W Power Supply
Asus A7V8X-X Motherboard w/LAN etc (Bios 13)
AMD Athlon XP2800+ Thoroughbred CPU @ 2250Ghz (stock)
ThermalTake Volcano 11+ Heatsink/Fan (w/ Antec high-silver thermal compound)
1 x 512Mb Kingston DDR PC2700 CL2.5 (timed: 2.5,2,2,6)
ATi Built RADEON 9800 PRO 128Mb DDR (catalyst 5.3)
Maxtor 120Gb 7200rpm 2Mb Hard Disk Drive
LG DVD-ROM
CD-RW
Soundblaster Live! PCI SoundCard
Cambridge Soundworks 4.1 speakers
Packard Bell 20\" CRT Monitor
Belinea 17\" CRT Monitor
Conexant HCF 56k Modem
Windows XP Professional (SP1)
mouse5150 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.