MAC Address - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-25-2006, 10:08 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 14
Default MAC Address

Hi
Actually I know this thing that the MAC address of the LAN can't be changed but there is a method of changing something in the windows registery and then the MAC address is changed
So if some one have any Idea I will appreciate his/her help

Thanks in advance
__________________

pretty is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 12:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

No, you cannot change MAC addresses, they are physically burned onto the NIC Card/Onboard NIC.

They are a 12 Digit/Character Hexidecimal Number
The first 3 Octets or, 3 sets of 2, are the Manufacturers code, the Last 3 Octets are the Card Model/Serial ID.

Every MAC address is unique in the entire world..
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:29 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
No, you cannot change MAC addresses, they are physically burned onto the NIC Card/Onboard NIC.

They are a 12 Digit/Character Hexidecimal Number
The first 3 Octets or, 3 sets of 2, are the Manufacturers code, the Last 3 Octets are the Card Model/Serial ID.

Every MAC address is unique in the entire world..
No, you can change it.

Start > Control Panel > System > Hardware > Device Manger > Network Adapters (Open up your network card) > Right click on your network card, select properties > Advanced > Network Adress

Type your new MAC address in here
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

Actually there is no Network Address Box Chris, I already Checked for both my Onboard Nics, you cannot change the MAC Address.


And if for some reason you can my computer is not showing the option, at least under the path you typed.

Edit: Wait I found it, that doesn't say MAC address, in fact in doesn't say what it is refering to, So I doubt it still.
If it was indeed the MAC address there should be a value in there already but instead the defualt is checked as "Not present".

Ste is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Ste
And yet another example of Comptia Being wrong.

I only said what I learned.
That's just what everyone thinks hun.

Now, changing MAC addresses is great for completly spoofing yourself

I also want to change my MAC address to that of a main gateway on a network

Wonder if it will be an easy way of routing all traffic thru me, instead of ARP posioning.
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Since your disagreeing with me, when you read this again just try it.

0013D3AC243A

This will make you look like a PC with an MSI Mobo.

Goodnight, sweet dreams :P
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 12:03 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

IF it is true then Be aware for the A+ Test that you will Have to answer what I said If Asked a question about it.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 01:24 AM   #8 (permalink)
003
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 3,312
Default

You can change your mac address with smac:
http://www.klcconsulting.net/smac/
__________________
so, umm, err yeah
003 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 02:10 AM   #9 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default

" SMAC is a MAC Address Modifying Utility (for spoofing MAC address) for Windows 2000, XP, and Server 2003 systems, regardless of whether the manufactures allow this option or not. "

For spoofing MAC addresses, meaning your really not changing anything you just Makking it appear to be differen't reguardless.

I talked to someone whos been with Networking/Computers for over 35 Years has his A+, MCSE and other Microsoft Certs, He said that you cannot change the MAC address on a NIC card. If anyone wants the transcript of our chat I can give it to you.



So I have no idea what Chris is talking about.
But I will do what he said then do an IPconfig/all to prove my MAC address on my Onboard DID NOT change.

Edit: Ok Chris, I did what you said, I changed the Network Address to the Address you provided, it dissconnect me from the internet I then did an "ipconfig/all" in cmd prompt, and lo and behold my Physical address (MAC Address) was the same as the day I got my computer.

So in short, No you cannot change your MAC address like I originally stated, However You can use Programs/Software to "Spoof" it.
Ste is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 10:42 AM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

I can change my MAC address so everybody thinks I am a different person. I never said I could change the burned in address.

And A+ and MCSE are hardcore networking certs :/

http://www.s94970138.onlinehome.us/yesican.jpg

http://www.s94970138.onlinehome.us/remotescan.jpg
__________________

DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.