M2 sockets - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-28-2005, 11:03 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
MrZucchiniHead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 915
Send a message via AIM to MrZucchiniHead
Default M2 sockets

ok i finally found out that it will, be at the most, 6 months before i build my first computer cause we cant get my grandmas house ready to sell yet. i just want to know when the M2 sockets come out and is it worth it to wait if its over the time i build my computer?
__________________

MrZucchiniHead is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 12:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Socket M2 will come out in the spring of this next year.

Just remember that the price to performance ratio is gonna be a little lower than skt939 at that time due to it being a brand new platform.

According to AMD plans, skt939 is here to stay for a few more years, so don't get to anxious to jump to M2.

Now is a good a time as any to build a computer, IMO.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Socket M2 will be released sometime in the second quarter of 2006, and socket 939 will be around till 2007-2008 with semprons. That is what i've heard
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 04:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
HAVOC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Milford, Connecticut
Posts: 4,218
Send a message via AIM to HAVOC Send a message via Yahoo to HAVOC
Default

M2 is supposed to support DDR2 RAM. It will also have one more pin then 939 so it'll be 940. Also, there are rumors that any AMD 65nm product will be socket M2. As far as i'm concerned... it's nothing to get too excited aboot.
HAVOC is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 06:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

So it will run Servers as well?
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 06:35 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 543
Default

its not exactly skt 940. like its still skt 940 but the old opterons that are skt 940 wont work with the motherboards even though its still the same socket. i dont know why, thats just how it is haha.
__________________
3200+ A64 skt 754
ASUS K8N4-E Deluxe
2x 512mb corsair value
X1800XL 512mb@X1800XT
2x 80g WD SATA
X-FI Platinum
Antec P180b
Running is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 07:40 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

IMO I would wait till M2 is released. That way when newer more powerfull CPUs are released you will be able to upgrade. Since Sempron is all that will be around in 2008 for 939. Can't remember the source I got this from.... It's nothing great, but the newer CPUs are like 5500+ as far as I know. And DDR2.... I would like some of that.... So me, I am waiting till M2 is released and MSI perfects a motherboard for that socket. And no the Socket 940 and M2 sockets are not compatable.... even though they have the same ammount of pins.... Kinda gay aint it?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

Nah it actualy makes sense. Becasue the old S940 dosent support the new memory architecture and everything. Im gonna get DFIs new board and something dual core.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Maybe they could make a chip that makes them compatable thats in the motherboard?? Kinda like the chip on the 6600GT for agp?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 08:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default

Who cares, why woudl they want to? Why would you want to use a 940??
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.