Low-Power consuming PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-30-2005, 11:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default Low-Power consuming PC

Hey guys, I am looking to build a computer that consumes as little power as possible. Speed isn't a big issue here, I just want something I can leave on all day to download from the internet and browse the internet in general. If anybody knows any low-power consuming components (or want to build me a low power computer) I'd appreciate the input. Thanks!
__________________

bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 11:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

any one of these:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-440&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-400&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-401&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...103-436&depa=1

and this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...127-166&depa=0

if you're not going to OC, any of these will work:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...141-164&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...145-026&depa=1

and you should go with a quiet case, such as this:
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...129-127&depa=0

and it also comes with a nice power supply as well

and if you need a hard drive and a cd/dvd/cdr/rw/dvdr/rw drive
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...152-035&DEPA=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...135-106&depa=1

and you'll need a fan to go along with that cpu, but i can't recommend one because i have no experience with them
__________________

__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 11:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

Perfect Diablo II. Thanks a lot!

As for graphics card, thats the only other thing and I should be set.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 11:58 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,743
Send a message via AIM to Dark_Sniper* Send a message via Yahoo to Dark_Sniper*
Default

6600GT
__________________
Dark_Sniper* is offline  
Old 03-30-2005, 11:58 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

well i updated again (look at the post again)

and for the graphics card - will you be doing an gaming?

edit: aside from the cpu fan, you'll also need a SATA adapter for the hard drive and a connector for the hard drive to psu; do you know what to get?
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:02 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 261
Send a message via AIM to bigstanklo
Default

No gaming. Just build a PC for that.
bigstanklo is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:07 AM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...125-154&depa=1
http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProduc...102-440&depa=1

those will work
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:27 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to opticalsky
Default

hey diabloII

Did you do the SLi mod on your mobo?
opticalsky is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:29 AM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,220
Default

nope, i'm a wuss

and i'm not thinking about it until my comp actually can't handle new games; then i'll consider doing the SLI mod and getting another 6600gt
__________________


Quote:
I don\'t play for fun, I play to win and winning is fun.
diabloII is offline  
Old 03-31-2005, 12:36 AM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 20
Send a message via AIM to opticalsky
Default

hehe

Well I'm building a computer using close to your specs you have already surprisingly, but using raptors for hdd
__________________

opticalsky is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.