low power? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-25-2005, 10:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default low power?

wtf, i have a 480w butterfly psu and i get the msg that my 6600 gt isnt receiving sufficient power.

it mentions to check my auxiliary power but its snug. the graphic card is snug and locked in itself.

i only have one dvd and hd that my psu has to support
__________________

Effex is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

yeah i think that u need to get a new PSU or try to rewire ur system.

I had 480W thermaltake psu but when bought 6800 Ultra i had to get 600W.
__________________

__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 02-25-2005, 11:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 826
Default

Nvidia 6600GT really a huge power comsumption card~~~
Perhaps u can use dual PSU or buy a higher power PSU~~~
__________________
http://blog.diyersitzone.net/

AMD Athlon 64x2 4000+
2GB Kingston DDRII667Mhz
MSI K9Neo-F
MSI 256MB GeForce8500GT
Western Digital 160GB SATAII HDD
Maxtor 80GB 8M ATA133 HDD
LG 4163B DVDRW
17" Samsung 793Dfx Monitor
Win XP Pro
didi is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 01:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 101
Send a message via Yahoo to Effex
Default

damnit, i just bought that brand new a couple months ago, i was under the impression it would be more than enough
Effex is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 02:02 AM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Lower end PSU's sometimes dont give out enough amps. How many amps you got on your 12?
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 02:17 AM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 549
Send a message via AIM to bigtimeballer50
Default

is there a spliiter like psu splits into this one conector then the conoector goes 2 ur vid card then to the hdd? if so disconect it and try sending 1 str8 from the psu 2 ur video card if that doesent work then try a diff conector ont he psu if that dont work then try the card ona diff comp or a diff psu.. thats all i can think of
gl...
see ya...
bigtimeballer50 is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 05:12 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Sometimes watts are listed as 600 and in actuallity it runs 300W, so ur best bet is to get a new PSU because even if get like a spiller thats not gona help.

my suggestion:

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=141212

http://www.zipzoomfly.com/jsp/Produc...uctCode=370465

i have both if them and I definatelly recoment both, the only thing is that the Thermaltake one is a bit loud at high rpm
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 02-26-2005, 10:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,019
Default

id hardly call a TT butterfly a low end psu..
__________________
Sig reinstated. SigSanta
VIII is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 12:41 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 218
Default

Im not calling it low end im just saying that i dont think that 480W is enough.

The wierd part is that the card requires 300W so theoretically 480W should be enough.
__________________
_________________________
AMD Athlon XP 3200+ @3.0 Ghz
Asus A7N8X-E DELUXE
Thermaltake Highest Xaser III (7 80mm case fans)
BFG 6800 ULTRA OC
MGE XG Vortec 600W Power Supply
1G Corsair XMS PC-3200
2 x 120 Gig 7200RPM
Logitech 5.1 - Z640 Speakers
Thermaltake BigWater Liquid Cooling System
ViewSonic VP201b 20.5\" LCD (16 ms refresh rate)
Stupid is offline  
Old 02-27-2005, 01:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 121
Default

wait a minute this thing requires 300 watts? Damn I think I have a 480 watt power supply. I have 2 hd's (ide), 1 cd drive, and my radeon 9800. Will I not be able to run this?
__________________

PILMAN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.