Lost Track Of Time...Need Opinions On Upgrading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-31-2004, 09:13 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Default Lost Track Of Time...Need Opinions On Upgrading

Greeting to all,

This is my first post and would like to have your opinions on what motherboard, CPU, and Memory to get in order to upgrade my dynosaur PII-350.

I wondered away from computer technology in 1999 and now I find it's mind boggling to read all and any articles about it. So please help!!!
__________________

TireurDelite is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 10:53 AM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 287
Default

http://www.maximumpc.com/ranking/rankings2.html

Biggest thing is how much you want to spend.If your a Gamer or just want to retreve e-mail's.Pretty much you wouldnt want to use any of your old stuff cept for your Moniter.Power supply wont work with a P4.Your memory would be 100 and not work in DDR slot's.Your video Card would be PCI and not worth reusing cept for E Mail retreve.If you got Win 98 for an os could use that also but XP makes life a whole lot easier.Hard to say without what you want to use it for.
__________________

Deadguy is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 02:56 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 405
Send a message via AIM to BxSlipSk8718 Send a message via Yahoo to BxSlipSk8718
Default

dude its over get a new pc little by little and go amd intel sucks!
__________________
My Box :D

- Antec P180 Xcloid 450watt PSU
- DFI LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR
- Amd 64 Venice Core 939 3000+
- AOpen 6800GT PCI-e Stock
- 1Gig (512x2) Geil Ultra 2-3-3-4
- 250gigx2 Raid 0 Striping SATAII 16mb cache

Is Gangsta
BxSlipSk8718 is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 03:26 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 3,937
Default

yup don't upgrade, buy a new computer. in the end it is cheaper and you will run into much less compatabilty problems.
ekÆsine is offline  
Old 01-31-2004, 07:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1,124
Default

if you by a pre-made dont let them cripple you with that onboard extreme video crap .Its good for office work but gaming blah.
This way you can upgrade your video down the road
__________________
Thermaltake Armor A90
Corsair HX1000W PS
i7 2600k / Cooler Master Hyper N 520
Asus P8Z68-V Pro / Gen 3
8 GIG Corsair Vengeance
eVGA GTX 570
SB Audigy2 Platinum
Kingston Hyper X120 SSD
WIN 7 - 64b
LG Blue Ray Super Multi Burrner
Logitech THX Z560
3x120mm - 1x200 mm case fans
Cappy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.