Lost at Motherboard Sea - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-26-2005, 04:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default Lost at Motherboard Sea

I'm looking for a new motherboard, somebody on here told me to look at Asus... I have used Gigabyte and they seem to work well for me. But my question is, is there something right around the corner that will increase speed majorly? For example, all this dual core stuff is coming out. I'm not interested in overclocking IMO its not worth it. What I don't want is built in video.
At this point I'm lost in a sea of motherboards and I don't know what to pick.
__________________

Snump is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 04:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Do you already have hardware and you are looking for an upgrade? Also, what do you use your computer for?

Such questions, if answered will give us further insight into your specific needs.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
Do you already have hardware and you are looking for an upgrade? Also, what do you use your computer for?

Such questions, if answered will give us further insight into your specific needs.
I have a case and an Nvidia video card. I play games, word processing you name it... I do it. I would rather steer clear of AMD and their Via, SiS and that crazy nforce chipsets, so I want to stick with Intel.

Should I go with SATA RAID? That would be nice since I don't backup... I think I'm the only person in the worls still using diskettes - for my papers. (Masters degree) I have two other PCs as it is, one is a P4 2.8 and other is an Athlon 2800 with Mandrake 10.
Snump is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:05 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

You could go with a RAID-1 array with SATA if you really wanted.
Here's my recommendation for a mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131534

Is your vid card AGP or PCI-E? This mobo^^ will only use PCI-E.
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

Their's nothing wrong with AMD Chipsets, the Nvidia Nforce is great
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 05:57 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 8
Send a message via AIM to zerosweet
Default

foxconns are pretty good and they look nice too. Plus the price isnt bad on them.
zerosweet is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:00 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,013
Send a message via AIM to DJ-CHRIS
Default

foxconns are in the top 5 worst motherboard's
DJ-CHRIS is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:11 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Elbatrop1
You could go with a RAID-1 array with SATA if you really wanted.
Here's my recommendation for a mobo:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131534

Is your vid card AGP or PCI-E? This mobo^^ will only use PCI-E.
It is AGP, I figure I'll stick with it for a year.
Snump is offline  
Old 05-26-2005, 06:12 PM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 222
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ-CHRIS
Their's nothing wrong with AMD Chipsets, the Nvidia Nforce is great
For reasons that I'll keep to myself I would like to get away from them, and stick to Intel - for now.
Snump is offline  
Old 05-27-2005, 12:50 AM   #10 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Hmmm. This is where you need to make a big decision:

Either:
a) Sell off the AGP vid card and get a mobo that uses PCI-E (and then get a PCI-E vid card to match).

b) Keep the AGP card and get a mobo that cant support the latest CPUs (including Dual Cores and emulated 64-bit).

I would personally choose A. You can get cheapy cards like the X300 to keep you going until you can save up for a better card, or if you have the money get yourself a higher end card.

If you choose the mobo I originally suggested, you would have to get a PCI-E card.

99.999% socket 775 (the ones that support dual core and emulated 64-bit) motherboards only use PCI-E.
__________________

__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.