Lost memory??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Monitors, Printers and Peripherals
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-13-2005, 12:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Question Lost memory???

Hey, I've been having computer problems recently as you can see by my recent postings. I'm getting close to being done though. So I used a system restore cd to restore my computer to factory settings, and now I'm having problems with my external hard drive. Its a 120Gb Maxtor Hard drive, but when I go to my computer, it tells me it that the total capacity is only 31.3 MB. How could I have lost so much space? And how can I get it back? I opened the hard drive folder and deleted everything in in, and regained no space. I don't need anything that is on the hard drive, but I would relaly like the space back. Any ideas? Thanks, Scott
__________________

yakerdude7 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:29 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

You said you used a CD to do a system restore.. are you sure that you did not create a new windows partition rather than formatting the old one?
__________________

__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default reply

I'm not sure exactly what I did... I just put in the cd and followed the instructions. I didn't want to redo my external hard drive though, I just wanted my internal hard drive to be redone. its ok if it got deleted too, but how do I get that space back?
yakerdude7 is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 195
Default

Do you have an actual windows CD?
__________________
-=Complete!=-

-DFI Lanparty NF4 Ultra-D
-AMD 64 3000 Winnie
-eVga 6600GT (PCIe)
-Mushkin Dual Pack PC3200 (512 X2)
-80gb WD SATA HDD
-Lite-On CD-RW
-Creative Live! Series 5.1 surround sound w/subwoofer
-Fans Galore
CreditSolutions is offline  
Old 03-13-2005, 01:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5
Default reply

yeah, I have the windows cd, but I don't want to install it on my external hard drive. That is already installed and working on my other hard drive. I jsut want free space on this one to store music, word documents, and pictures on. Is there any way to do this?
yakerdude7 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.